Matchstick Broccoli Slaw with Tahini

It’s a good thing I’m so on top of it lately.

Shortly after making this recipe, I found that Food 52 listed broccoli stems as “What’s In”. 

Scoreeeeeeee!

This really started out as a mission to have less waste.  When I buy whole broccoli, I typically just chop up the stalks and toss them in with the rest of the florets but I realize a lot of people just throw them out (or give them to their dogs- I met a guy once that let his dogs chew on them).

Inspired by the Organic Broccoli Slaw by Trader Joe’s, I wanted to create my own version from leftovers complete with a delicious dressing.  This also gave me an excuse to practice my different cutting techniques!

I’ve been enjoying this as a delicious side to my meals but you could easily add a few more things to it an make it a great main dish for summer!

Matchstick Broccoli Slaw with Tahini

Serves 2-3

4 Broccoli Stalks

2 Medium-Sized Carrots

1 TBSP of Soy Sauce

2 TBSP Tahini

1 TBSP Brown Sugar

1 TBSP Rice Wine Vinegar

1 tsp Chili Flakes

Hemp Seeds (to garnish)

With a knife, slice off the ends of the broccoli along with the tough outer skin (the skin is pretty thick so I found that a knife worked better than a peeler).  Cut broccoli into 2 inch pieces and slice into tiny matchsticks.  Repeat with the carrots.

In a small bowl, combine the soy sauce, tahini, brown sugar, vinegar and chili flakes.  Whisk until smooth and toss in with sliced carrots and broccoli.  

Garnish with hemp seeds (if desired) and serve!

Leave a Reply

