Holy Moly Guac-a-mole!

I know what you’re thinking.

You’re thinking “Wow- did she really just do that?  Seriously??”

And the answer is yes.  Yes, I went there.

Holy moly guac-a-mole.

HELLZ TO THE YA!

I want to say that guacamole is an under-appreciated food and in some ways it is.  Sure, everyone loves it (If you don’t love it get out- get out now.  Ok no, no, I’m just kidding…kinda.) but so often do I see recipes for guacamole that just aren’t right.  I mean, if you don’t have a jalapeño or cilantro in it, it isn’t guac.  Similarly, some chopped tomato is also a requirement.

From there you can make some changes, but you just can’t skip those ingredients.  

Sorry, you just can’t.

I’ve been told I’m a bit, uh, set in my ways with regards to my opinions here, but I’m ok with that.  Everyone has to be passionate about something, right?  

I’m passionate about the proper way to make guacamole.

In an effort to prove that I have some ability to be a reasonable and flexible person I’ve added a few twists to this recipe- roasted sweet corn and shallots rather than a red onion.

Woah boy- I know I’m really pushing some boundaries here but a good basic recipe doesn’t need much done to it.  No frills, just good guacamole.

Roasted Corn Guacamole

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
JA
X-NONE

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:12.0pt;
font-family:Cambria;
mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

¼ Cup Sweet Corn

2 Shallots (or 1/4 Red Onion)

½ tsp Salt

1 Jalapeño (or more for a spicier guacamole)

¼ Cup Packed Cilantro

Juice of ½ Lime

1 Small Tomato (Approx 1/3 Cup)

2 Avocados

In a pan, stirring constantly, dry roast the sweet corn for several minutes until it has browned slightly.  Remove from heat and set aside.

Chop the shallots and add to a bowl with the salt.  Using a wooden spoon, muddle the shallots and salt slightly, then add the chopped and seeded jalapeño, chopped cilantro and lime juice.  Slice the tomato and remove excess juice.  Add to mixture along with diced avocados and roasted corn.  Mix until desired consistency is reached and season with additional salt and lime juice as desired.

 

Leave a Reply

