Red White and Green Farfalle Pasta

After weeks of measuring and weighing everything out exactly, I’m really not into it much these days.  I now revel in literally throwing things together.  I used to read and follow directions more and now I look at a recipe a few times to get the gist of it and then just go for it and I love it!  I feel like it’s steps like these that are slowly making me a better cook.  I pay more attention to what I’m making and being in the moment with what’s happening to the food in front of me rather than to the written recipe.

I’ve always struggled with pasta recipes- particularly getting the sauce right.  Tomato sauces never end up thick enough or flavorful enough and cheese or cream sauces always end up separating because I cook them too high.  

I was always in a rush and for me, rush= high heat.  For everything.  As I’ve discovered, I can toss together a pasta dish in a flash but I really don’t need much heat at all!  Just let the ingredients do their thing.

This recipe was inspired by The Chiappas’ Speedy Tomato Lemon and Rocket Pasta Sauce.  I used some of my home-canned tomatoes that I chopped up, added some creamy feta and made some changes to the lemon usage.  I loved adding lots of “rocket” (or arugula, as I’m used to calling it)- adds some healthy greens to the meal!

In the spirit of going with the flow, I’m going to write this recipe a little differently- no need for exact measurements, just eyeball it and adjust as you go!  Listen to your ingredients!

Red, White and Green Farfalle Pasta

Adapted from The Chiappas.

Makes 2-3 Servings

Fill a large pot with water and add a small handful of salt.  Bring to a boil and pour in half a bag of farfalle (about 8oz).  Cook until al dente.

In a medium skillet, add a glug of olive oil and heat on medium.  Toss in 2-3 whole smashed garlic cloves and 1/2-3/4 cup of chopped tomatoes. Season with salt and pepper.  Cook for several minutes before adding a squeeze of lemon.  Turn of stove and remove from heat.  Toss in pasta, several ounces of crumbled feta cheese, arugula and grate in some fresh parmiggiano.

Toss to coat and adjust accordingly- I’m always in favor of more cheese! 

Leave a Reply

