Miso Porridge with Sautéed Scallions and Poached Eggs

So!  Back on track with recipes- I promise!

Last week and this week I’ve been having so much fun cooking and baking (maybe a little too much fun, says my ever expanding belly).  During prep I had compiled a huge list of things I had wanted to make once I was done and well…I’ve been working on it.  I currently find myself with more food in the fridge than I or Mr. C can eat (god, I feel/sound so entitled saying that).  I’ve only made a few recipes so far but I’ve been working on pawning food onto people with- sadly- only marginal success.

I spent a lot of time looking at recipes but in the last few weeks I also started studying different cooking and baking techniques.  Julia Child became a favorite to watch (of course) but I also enjoyed a lot of Jamie Oliver, Alton Brown and America’s Test Kitchen, amongst others.  One of the techniques I studied was how to poach an egg.

I have a small farmer in Maryland who has some chickens in his backyard and lets me buy eggs from him and I must say- they are the best eggs.  I only buy eggs from local farms and while I’ve tried a lot of different farms in Maryland and New York, I have never found eggs as dark in color or as rich as his.  Must be from all those cantaloupes I used to bring for his chickens!  Whenever I’m in Maryland or my mom is coming up to visit, I give him a call and stock up on eggs.

With so many beautiful eggs I wanted to do something special with them, such as poaching one.  

As I discovered it was not that far out of reach.  In fact, it wasn’t that complicated at all.  No more hard boiled eggs with lunch here- we are gonna be getting fancy in the future!  Eggs Benedict for breakfast?  No longer a meal only available when going out for brunch- I relish the challenge of making it at home!  

I spent a lot of time reviewing the advice and tips from various aforementioned chefs and in the end, decided to go with Alton Brown’s technique for poaching eggs which you can see here.  The technique involves filling a pan with an inch and a half of water and bringing it to a light simmer.  Add 1 tablespoon of white vinegar before carefully placing the eggs in the water and cooking for four and a half minutes.  Carefully remove the egg with a slotted spoon.

See?  Not that tricky!

Miso Porridge with Sautéed Scallions and Poached Eggs

Serves 2

2 Poached Eggs* (see notes and video link above)

1/2 Cup Cream of Rice

2 Cups Water

1 TBSP White Miso

2 Scallions

1 TBSP Sesame Oil + extra to drizzle

1 tsp Soy Sauce

1/2 tsp Sugar

Freshly Grated Pepper

Add water to a pot and whisk in miso as you bring it to a boil.  Stir in cream of rice and continue stirring until thickened.  Remove from heat.

Cut off green tops , slice thinly and set aside to reserve for later.  Slice white parts of scallion in half lengthwise before cutting into 1 inch strips.  In a small pan, heat sesame oil on medium.  Add chopped scallion whites and sauté for a minute before adding soy sauce and sugar.  Cook for a few more minutes until scallions soften and begin to brown.  Remove from heat.

Divide porridge into bowls and top with poached eggs, sautéed scallions and scallion tops.  Drizzle on sesame oil and season with some freshly grated pepper.

Leave a Reply

