Chicken Over Quinoa & Roasted Cauliflower with Avocado Drizzle

Hello my dear fans and readers.  The time has come for me to be honest with you.  I can’t say as I’ve “lied” exactly, but I feel that I have lied by omission.

I am no longer vegan and I am no longer vegetarian.

For those of you have been following me for several years now, I’m sure it was apparent that, while I rarely said it, when I started this blog it was most definitely plant-based (or vegan).  This blog has always been and always will be focused around natural foods and inspired by local, seasonal produce.

That being said however, I am going to start making recipes with meat incorporated in them, such as this one.  Does this mean every recipe will have meat?  Of course not!  Seasonal produce will always serve as inspiration in my recipes.  After all, I love making my vegan protein pancakes and am still obsessed with tempeh.

For those of you who are here solely for those recipes, I really truly hope you’ll stick around and keep checking in.

Last year when I was living in Maryland and working at the farmer’s stand, I began transitioning away from veganism.  It happened slowly over time as I worked with local farmers in the area who were all so incredibly proud of their work and their lifestyle.  I eventually became vegetarian again (and started posting such recipes on the page).  

Living so close to the Chesapeake Bay, Southern Maryland is an area known for its seafood and crabs.  It is, without a doubt, part of the lifestyle and a way of life and, for many of the people that live there, it is also their livelihood.  The local watermen work so hard, day in and day out and take great pride in their work which has often been passed from generation to generation within their family.  In Maryland, sustainability is important and there are very strict laws and regulations with regards to the catching and harvesting of crabs, fish and oysters etc and quite honestly, it’s fascinating to study.

Anyway, long story short (and without going through all the personal details), I found my way back to being a pescatarian and eventually back to eating meat entirely.  Like the majority of my other foods I buy, I choose only to purchase from local farmers and have no wish to support factory farming.

I am truly sorry who may be disappointed with this news and while I hope you all will stay with me and continue following my page, I understand if you will no longer be interested.

While A Little Rosemary and Time is quickly approaching its third year, there have been a lot of changes, adjustments and growth along the way.  I am so grateful for all of you that have followed me and I really hope most of you will continue the journey with me.

This was a healthy, flavorful recipe I made for Train Eat Gain last month.  It is one that I have used quite often recently while I’ve been prepping for competition because it has a perfect balance of fats, carbs and of course, protein.  If you’re interested, please check it out here!  

Leave a Reply

