Warrior Blend Chocolate Strawberry Smoothie with Raw Almond Milk

Back in February a representative from Sunwarrior (a company who creates raw, plant-based proteins and supplements) contacted me, asking if I’d be interested in participating in a friendly recipe competition.  Having no previous experience with their products I was interested and of course said yes.  

I love being able to try out different products and companies- everyone has their own take on things and I love being able to be involved with people who are just as passionate about health, fitness and wellness as myself.  I was pleasantly surprised to find a package arrive at my door about a week later- chock full of samples of their various products.  Not only vanilla and chocolate protein powders but also samples of their Activated Bio-Fermented Barley Powder, (which is great for a slow burning carbohydrate), Immune Shield, Liquid Light, and their Ormus Supergreens (and all this came in a super cute shaker bottle- score!).

While I only got one sample of each (which meant I had to be a little careful when sampling before trying out a recipe because I didn’t have much room for error!) I really enjoyed being able to try everything out but the chocolate protein powder was the one that took the cake (pun intended).  I also really enjoyed their Supergreens- it’s a great way to get that extra “oomph” (a very scientific term, of course) of greens in the day- especially if you drink it first thing in the morning like I did.

I normally use almond milk in my smoothies but realized late one night that I was out.  I used to make raw almond milk fairly frequently but haven’t done so in a long time and seeing as I had lots of raw almonds at home, decided that that would be a perfect way to keep this smoothie raw and full of good-for-you ingredients without any fillers.

Disclaimer: Sunwarrior sent me their products to sample and review for the purpose of their recipe competition – no other compensation was received..  All opinions are my own.

Warrior Blend Chocolate Strawberry Smoothie with Raw Almond Milk

Serves 1

1/4 Cup Raw Almonds

1  1/2 Cups Water

1 Banana

4 Large Strawberries

1 Scoop Sunwarrior Warrior Blend Chocolate 

1 Serving Activated Barley (optional)

Soak raw, unsalted almonds in a bowl with cool water overnight.  Discard the water and then peel them in the morning (the skins should be loose enough by the next morning that you can just pop them out of their skin, but this isn’t a necessary step if you don’t want to do it).

Add the almonds, fresh water, peeled banana, rinsed strawberries (if they’re organic, toss them in with the tops, if not, remove them before adding), chocolate protein powder and activated barley (if using) to a blender.

Blend on high until smooth.  Drink and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

