Healthy (Vegan) Tiramisu Protein Pancakes

Holy Jesus you guys- I am amazing.

Seriously- I’m pretty sure I am a god.  Like woah.

Ok maybe I shouldn’t talk like that but hear me out!

Yeah- so this happened.

So a few weeks back Vega announced they were coming out with a new Mocha Flavored protein powder.  Yeah – woah.  

So I of course ordered it immediately.  Which is funny because I didn’t used to like coffee (or coffee flavored) things.  Recently though, I’ve been craving that little extra “savory” note.  Hence my excitement for mocha protein powder.

So yeah, long story short, I tried it and loved it and was all, “OMG – I need to make tiramisu protein pancakes with this!!”

And so I tried.

And failed.

And then I tried again.

And failed again.

This went on for a while, each time it got better though but I seriously went through 3 completely inedible mush batches (and several other somewhat edible batches).

I had all but given up hope when I realized that March 3rd is National Pancake Day!  I couldn’t pass up the opportunity and needed to get these guys to work ASAP!  And boy oh boy did I!

I loved shooting this because I basically just ate my way through it while photographing.

Win!

I was able to get the pancakes chocolate-y, mocha-y (with a hit of rum!) and the delicious creamy layers rich and healthy with the use of whipped up yogurt.

Crazy right?

Super decadent, super delicious and super healthy!  And seeing as I was using Vega for the protein powder, I of course had to make these babies vegan!

Healthy (Vegan) Tiramisu Protein Pancakes

Serves 4-5

Per Serving (5): 365 cal, 6g fat, 50g net carbs, 6 sugars, 26g protein.

Pancakes:

2 Scoops Mocha Flavored Vega Sport Protein Powder

4 TBSP Whole Psyllium Husks (or 8 TBSP Ground Flax Seeds)

4 Cups Almond Milk

2 tsp Rum Extract

2 Cups Flour (or Gluten-Free Flour such as Bob’s Red Mill)

4 TBSP Cacao

1 TBSP Instant Espresso Powder

4 tsp Baking Powder

Creme:

3 Cups Plain (Soy or Coconut) Yogurt 

2 tsp Stevia Extract

Non-stick Spray

Additional Toppings (Optional):

Sugar Free Chocolate Syrup

Strawberries

In a small bowl, combine the psyllium husks, almond milk and rum extract.  Whisk together and set aside for several minutes (the mixture should thicken up and become slightly gelatinous).

In a medium sized bowl, combine dry ingredients (protein powder, flour, cacao, espresso, baking powder).  Using a spoon, mix in the wet mixture being careful not to over-mix.  It should be thick, but if it’s too dry, add a little more almond milk.

Heat a small pan on medium-low heat.  Coat with non-stick spray and add pancake batter 1/3 a cup at a time.  Cover pan with a lid and cook for several minutes until the sides of the pancake firm up.  Flip and cook for several more minutes.  Repeat with remaining batter.

Whip together yogurt and stevia sweetener (you could also just opt for a sweetened vanilla yogurt).

Top pancakes with a dollop of yogurt on each one and add additional chocolate syrup and strawberries if desired.

Relish in your healthy protein pancake indulgence (especially on National Pancake Day) and get those gains!

Healthy (Vegan) Tiramisu Protein Pancakes

Super decadent, super delicious and super healthy! And seeing as I was using Vega for the protein powder, I of course had to make these babies vegan!!

Ingredients:

Serves 4-5 Per Serving (5): 365 cal, 6g fat, 50g net carbs, 6 sugars, 26g protein.

Pancakes:

  • 2 Scoops Mocha Flavored Vega Sport Protein Powder
  • 4 TBSP Whole Psyllium Husks (or 8 TBSP Ground Flax Seeds)
  • 2 tsp Stevia Extract
  • Non-stick Spray
  • 4 Cups Almond Milk
  • 2 tsp Rum Extract
  • 2 Cups Flour (or Gluten-Free Flour such as Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 4 TBSP Cacao
  • 1 TBSP Instant Espresso Powder
  • 4 tsp Baking Powder
  • Creme:

  • 3 Cups Plain Yogurt
  • 2 tsp Stevia Extract

6 thoughts on “Healthy (Vegan) Tiramisu Protein Pancakes

    • Kelsey Marcus says:

      Thanks a bunch- I’m so glad you like them! I love making naturally healthy food inspired by decadent desserts and sweets (without using lots of chemical additives!) Thanks for pinning and sharing 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

