Curried Coconut Tempeh Wraps with Zingy Cranberry Relish

Alright so I’ve been on a roll this week!  I’m kind of shocked but it looks like my “If You Like Piña Coladas” recipe was ridiculously popular.  It’s exciting but kind of sad.  I obviously love smoothies but the recipes that really take the most work, testing, trial and error are my cooking ones…and the ones that the internet goes nuts for?  My smoothies.

I mean, don’t get me wrong- I’m thrilled that people love it but I wish people got that excited over my cooked/baked recipes.  Guess I just gotta keep trying!  In the meantime though, I’ll probably try to make more cocktail/dessert inspired smoothie recipes.

That being said, I’ve started my, “let me test and make new recipes and make Mr. C eat them” technique.  So far it’s going well! 

Now I love marinated tempeh- like it’s the bomb.  101 Cookbooks originally introduced me to the magic of marinated tempeh with their TLT Sandwich recipe and it’s been a favorite of mine ever since.

Being somewhat inundated with canned coconut milk, however, I decided to do a sweet and spicy coconut curry marinade with it.

I mean, just look at that gloriousness.

But as things go, with something sweet like this (that isn’t just dessert), having something a little sour, a little zingy, really adds some fun!

This cranberry relish is one I adapted from a family recipe.  We usually make this over Thanksgiving but it’s so delicious it should be eaten year-round!

Curried Coconut Tempeh Wraps with

Zingy Cranberry Relish

Makes 4 Wraps

Curried Coconut Tempeh:

1 Package of Tempeh

3 Medjool Dates

1 Slice of Dried Pineapple

1/2 Cup Canned Coconut Milk

2 tsp Cumin

1/2 tsp Cayenne

1/4 tsp Cinnamon

1/3 tsp Water

1/2 tsp Salt

Zingy Cranberry Relish

1 Cup Fresh Cranberries

1 Blood orange

1 TBSP Honey (or agave)

1 TBSP Dried Cranberries

 

1 Avocado

2 Cups Microgreens, Arugula or Mixed Greens 

4 Sprouted Tortilla Wraps

Tempeh: Slice tempeh into small half inch strips.  Pit the dates.  Add dates, pineapple, coconut milk, cumin, cayenne, cinnamon, water and salt to a blender.  Blend until marinade is smooth.  Using a glass baking dish, pour half of the marinade in the bottom, place tempeh into one layer over it and pour the rest of the marinade on top.  Cover and let it sit in the fridge overnight.  

Preheat oven to 425°F.  Bake tempeh for 20 minutes, flipping halfway through.  Remove and let cool.

Cranberry Relish: Slice the oranges into quarters.  Remove any visible seeds and peel skin (hold onto two of the skins!).  Toss the cranberries, orange, 1/2 of the outer skin, honey and dried cranberries into a food processor.  Process until the mixture is thoroughly chopped and combined.  (This can also be made ahead.)

Assembly: Heat each wrap in a skillet- 30 seconds on each side, until it is soft and pliable.  Remove from pan and spread 1/3 cup relish on bottom, layer 1/2 cup of greens on top, 1/4 of sliced tempeh.  Top with slices of 1/4 avocado.  Fold in sides and wrap it up!  Eat and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

