Popped Amaranth Cereal with Winter Fruits and Pecans

Snow day in NYC baby!

Honestly though, it’s like nothing.  Anywhere else and this would be no big deal.  NYC though?  No one plows the roads and most people don’t know how to clear their sidewalks.  They even shut down subway service and put a curfew for cars last night.

People panicked and bought everything possible to prepare up for this “snowpocolypse”.  I saw several 6-packs being carried on the subway on the way home.

Me?  I did food prep on Sunday so I’m all set for the week- no worries here!

Last night (and this morning on our way to the park) the dogs and I had fun running around in the middle of the streets.

Empty streets are my favorite.  I love walking when no one is out and everything is quiet.  It’s relaxing to be in a quiet city.

Right now though, I just have to make sure to not eat everything in sight.  Like this awesome popped amaranth I made over the weekend.

You heard right- popped amaranth.

It’s a thing.  

It can be a nightmarish thing to do though.

Or at least, I went through several attempts before I didn’t completely burn all of it.  And then I learned how to do it right.

But in all seriousness, this stuff is delicious and full of healthy fruits and nuts.

Om nom nom.  

I love making breakfast cereals and oatmeals and stuff like that.  I like keeping the sweetness in my control so it’s just right.  And no white sugar here!

Popped Amaranth Cereal with Winter Fruits and Pecans

Serves 3-4

1/4 Cup Amaranth

1/3 Cup Dried Cranberries

1/4 Raw Pecan Pieces

1 Medjool Date

1 Clementine

Honey (Or Agave)

Almond Milk

Heat a small pot on high.  Allow it to get hot and add amaranth in small batches.  You only want a single layer to cover the bottom.  Put a lid on and shake pot around to keep amaranth moving until it all pops.  Pour into a bowl immediately and continue in batches with the rest of the amaranth.

Remove pit from date and chop.

Peel clementine, remove seeds and chop.

Combine amaranth, cranberries, pecans, chopped dates and clementines.

Serve with some milk and honey.

2 thoughts on “Popped Amaranth Cereal with Winter Fruits and Pecans

Leave a Reply

