Sunday Links

Wow this week went by fast- I don’t even know where to start!  I mean I guess, to be honest, not too much happened but it was an enjoyable week nonetheless.

Today also marks the end of my first week of prep- 11 weeks (or 75 days) to go!

I learned a lot this week.  People that compete regularly often say that each prep is different and as I have found so far, this time around is very different than last year.  I’m trying to have more fun with it and I have to admit, I feel weird to be eating things that actually have flavor (sometimes).  Been doing a lot with spices and herbs and that certainly helps a lot!  When everything has to be so exact, it’s sometimes much easier just to keep thing very plain.  But obviously, that’s very boring so I’ve been trying to be more on top of things this time.

I have concerns because I haven’t lost much this week, and my coach still has me pretty high in carbs but hey, I’ll trust her and take things one step at a time.  No use stressing so soon!

Anyway, I’ve continued to live vicariously through other people’s recipes. So it’s time to share some of my favorites with you all!

Peanut butter and cookies certainly held my heart this week with delicious Double Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies from The Lovely, Healthy Peanut Butter Pancakes from Heather’s Dish, Peanut Butter Cheesecake with Whipped Marshmallow and Bananas from How Sweet Eats (which is totally becoming the cake I make for my birthday), and finally, ROCCO’s (aka: Raisin Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Cookies) from Yummy Beet.


I also kinda lost it when I saw this recipe for Cheesecake Stuffed Waffles with Berry Syrup by A Duck’s Oven.

On a (slightly) healthier note, This Rawsome Vegan Life was on top of her game, as always, with a delicious Life Changing Marzipan Butterscotch Ice Cream Sundae…If I’m careful, I might even be able to get that to fit into my macros!

I was definitely feeling a Japanese theme over at The Kitchn with their posts about the importance of having dried shiitake mushrooms in your pantry, ways to use miso pase (beyond just for miso soup!) and how to make miso broth. Oh yeah, love that umami goodness!

And to finalize that Japanese theme, I’ll finish with this amazing recipe from Dolly and Oatmeal for TURMERIC-MISO SOUP W/ SHIITAKES, TURNIPS + SOBA NOODLES.

Om nom nom nom y’all.

Leave a Reply

