Candy Cane Cookies!

La ti da- I’ve totally not been on top of things lately.  Yesterday was my final day for classes- woop woop!  I’ll just have to find something else to blame for not being productive…

Nah, I’m kidding.

Kinda…

But in other news!

I arrived back in Brooklyn on Thursday evening supplied with a car full of stuff and topped with a Christmas tree.  Yes, I did bring a tree all the way from Southern Maryland.  On top of my car.  Through the rain and snow.  And wind. 

With the weather it got a little exciting at times but the tree made it safely!  

I had brought a small hand saw with me so it could be fresh cut before we put it up.  We ran into some problems with that though.  The blade was too worn and wouldn’t cut through so we had to buy another one.  Even after we got a new one we still couldn’t cut through the base.  Mr. C ended up hacking at it with a hammer (front and back) for a good 20 minutes before we decided that enough was enough and the base had been exposed enough that it would suck up water.  So far it seems to be doing fine.

I spend most of Friday cleaning and organizing as well as decorating the tree.

See, isn’t it cute??  Anyway, I’m still working on stuff but I do have another exciting recipe for you all!  This is another family recipe that we make every year.  No Christmas would be complete without Candy Cane Cookies!

I don’t know if you’ve realized but I’m a fan of cute things.  Not necessarily like “Hello Kitty” cute, but “little things” cute.  “Precious” things cute.  I dunno, it’s kinda hard to explain.  But these Candy Canes are SO CUTE!

Candy Cane Cookies

1 1/3 Cup Butter, room temperature

3/4 Cup Sugar

1/2 tsp Almond Extract

1 tsp Peppermint Extract

3 3/4 Cups Flour

3 TBSP Milk

Red Food Coloring

In a standing mixer, cream butter and sugar.  Add flour one up at a time along with milk and almond extract.  Mix until well blended.  Divide dough in half and mix in red food coloring and peppermint extract to one.  Cover in 2 separate bowls and refrigerate for 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 350° F.

Roll into strips on a lightly floured board.  Carefully twist the white and red strips together and roll into one cylindrical shape. Cut and shape into candy canes at desired length.

Place on un-greased cookie sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes until very lightly browned on the bottom.

2 thoughts on “Candy Cane Cookies!

Leave a Reply

