Baked Spelt Flour and Matcha Donuts

Later today I’ll be heading back to Maryland for a week or so.  It’s been a lot of back and forth recently but I need to be back tomorrow to take care of something for one of my classes.  After that it’s smooth sailing until the end of the semester (12/14)!  Woo hoo- three more classes down and one step closer to grad school! 

As I write this though, there’s a locksmith making loud drill buzzy noises in my apartment.  He’s working on the door to change out the knob and lock.  While I’m wide awake I feel badly for my neighbors because if they weren’t awake before, they certainly are now!

Monday I actually ended up being locked inside the apartment.  I was all ready to head out for the day- take the dogs for a quick walk and then head to the gym and I suddenly found I couldn’t get the door to open!  The doorknob kept spinning and wouldn’t engage the lock.  I spent a good 10 minutes working at it- pushing and pulling, jiggling it and just plain shoving myself into the door (not productive at all but it made me feel like I was) and it wouldn’t open.  Panicking I called Mr. C who gave me the number of our handsome neighbor who has a key to the apartment and works nearby.  I was lucky that he was free and only a few block away.  While I waited for him to arrive I kept attacking the lock but to no avail.

As I sat down in resignation, I suddenly heard the thundering of footsteps bounding up the stairs, two at a time.  With the click and turn of a key in the outer lock and a quick smile, Jesse, my knight in shining armor, suddenly popped in.

I was rescued!  With a face like the working man’s version of Prince Charming I really did feel like I had been a princess rescued from my ivory tower.  You know, a kind of muscular princess that wears blue jeans and sneakers.

All in all, it ended up being a somewhat exciting afternoon (and I did get to go to the gym!).  In the evening when Mr. C came home he was able to configure the lock to work (for the next few days until the locksmith came, at least) so that we wouldn’t all be locked in.

Yesterday was a less exciting day.  I spent most of the morning making “donuts”, photographing them and generally being unproductive otherwise.  The internet can be a very distracting place.

Now when I say “donuts” I really mean in the fact that they are shaped like donuts.  To be honest I kind of feel like I made muffins.  In the shape of donuts.

But it got your attention, didn’t it?  Donuts are infinitely more exciting than muffins.  Not to say that muffins aren’t awesome but you know, they’re not donuts…

I used to work at a Japanese tea shop in the city.  I’ve been wanting to play with using tea in my cooking and baking for a while but just haven’t done so yet.  These matcha donuts are my first attempt.  I like them because they aren’t too sweet and are very filling.  I sprinkled the top with extra matcha powder but if you wanted to sweeten the deal a bit I’d recommend adding some powdered sugar on top.

Baked Spelt Flour and Matcha Donuts

Makes 8 Mini Donuts 

1/3 Cup Spelt Flour

2/3 Cup White Flour

1/3 Cup Turbinato Sugar

1 TBSP Matcha Powder

1 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1/4 tsp Salt

1/3 Cup Plain Yogurt

1/2 Cup Almond Milk

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

1 Egg

 

Preheat oven to 400°F.

In a medium sized bowl, whisk together dry ingredients.  In a separate bowl, whisk wet ingredients together.  Being careful not to over-mix, add wet ingredients into dry.

Pour the batter into a greased nonstick donut pan (a muffin pan would also work- just don’t pour in too much batter) and bake for 10-12 minutes until cooked through.

Serve and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Baked Spelt Flour and Matcha Donuts

Leave a Reply

