Roasted Beet Salad with Creamy Chèvre and Pomegranate

Recipes work in different ways for me.  Sometimes, it’s a matter of walking down into the kitchen and looking around at what I have on hand and figuring some way to combine things.  Other times inspiration will hit from an ingredient I see while I’m shopping and everything else will follow.  And sometimes, when I’m bored and tired, I lay down and imagine different tastes in my head and on my tongue.  Much like Jenna in “Waitress” I categorize different ingredients in my head and add and subtract as I go along until I end up with something that’s “just right”.

Not that they turn out “just right” in practice.

Sometimes I’m lucky though.

That’s kind of how this recipe came together.  In my head I played with different tastes and combinations until I found something that worked.  The pomegranate seeds were the important finishing touch – adding some crunch and a little tartness,  When I got around to getting the recipe together though, go figure, I forgot them!  I cooked it all up, photographed it and ate most of it, wondering all the while what was missing and then remembered, “Oh no- the pomegranate seeds!”

I tossed in the seeds in the remaining bit and yeah, that’s what was missing.  So, the next day I started over- remade it entirely (with a few adjustments) until it seemed just right and photographed it again.

I’ve really been working hard on only publishing recipes that I’m completely confident and happy with (along with keeping consistent in my posts) and I’ve been finding I have a lot more leftovers these days.  I keep ending up with experiments and failures that hang around in the fridge going, “Now what?”

So far I’ve managed to deal with it (another reason why I love being a body builder with a bottomless pit of a stomach) but I’ve heard that this is often the case with food bloggers and recipe curators. You end up with a lot of wasted and leftover food…I’m pretty good about pawning food off onto other people though!  I’m not a big fan of waste…

Anyway, I’m just happy that I got it to work.  I’m also really excited to say that all the “props” in these pics are my own creations!

My mom and I signed up for a 6 week pottery class a while ago and earlier this week we were able to pick up our finished pieces.  I’ve taken pottery classes before but was never particularly successful in learning to control the clay.  It typically became one of those “I guess this looks ok but I better stop before I mess it up entirely” kind of deals.  It was such a fun class to take together and I was ecstatic to finally learn how to consistently control the clay and create what I envisioned.  These bowls were some of my favorite pieces. 

For good measure though, I’m going to share some more pictures using one of the plates I made 🙂

Roasted Beet Salad with Creamy Goat Chèvre and Pomegranate

Serves 3-4

1/2 Cup Wheat Berries

3 Medium Beets

1/4 Sliced Fennel

1 TBSP EVOO

1 tsp Red Wine Vinegar

1 tsp Balsamic Vinegar

Salt/ Lemon Pepper

1/4 Cup Chèvre Goat Cheese

1/4 Cup Pomegranate Seeds

Place wheat berries in a bowl and cover with cold water.  Let them soak for 30 minutes up to overnight.

Scrub the beets and roast in a glass pan covered in tin foil at 425°F for 30-40 minutes until they are fork tender.  Remove and allow them to cool before peeling off skins. (this can be done ahead of time).

Place wheat berries in a small pot and cover with an inch of water.  Bring to a simmer and cook for 25-30 minutes.  Once they are cooked through, drain the excess water.

Meanwhile, chop the beets and thinly slice the fennel length-wise.  Whisk together olive oil, red wine and balsamic vinegar in a small bowl.  Season with salt and lemon pepper.

Combine wheat berries, beets, fennel, crumbled chèvre, pomegranate seeds and drizzle dressing on top.

Serve and enjoy~!

2 thoughts on “Roasted Beet Salad with Creamy Chèvre and Pomegranate

  1. Traci | Vanilla And Bean says:

    Kelsey, this is a lovely salad with so many seasonal ingredients! I’ve yet to try beets with pomegranates, but the combination sounds delightful! And look at your lovely bowls you and your mom created. They are beautiful! What a fabulous way to showcase your delicious salad!

    Like

Leave a Reply

