Mac and Cheese Squash-aroni

So this week has been a very exciting week for me (or us- Cesar has been excited too)!  We’ve hit several record views on the page beating out all previous ones by far.  Since Monday I’ve gotten 5 images accepted onto Food Gawker (woop woop!) and been working hard to spread my page and recipes around other places and so far it’s really been working out well!  I wanted to go with the flow of all the excitement and make another recipe for you all before the end of the week. 

Seeing as the Lentil Stew with Delicata Squash recipe has been such a hit and I’m in love with anything and everything fall squash related, I wanted to continue along those lines…you know- the lines of savory carb-y goodness and delicious sweet squash.

I’ve had notions for a while now of making a mac and cheese but with some sort of fall squash.

I mean, what could be better?  Squash is creamy and delicious and often used in lasagna so why not use it to coat some macaroni?  Is it too fancy for greasing those elbows?  I think not!

So low and behold, squash and macaroni was born!

I’ve been craving pasta and more savory things lately so for me this really hit the spot.  I didn’t use as many cashews as I normally would for a cream base just because I didn’t want it to be super sweet (which I totally love too…just not right now).

 

Mac and Cheese Squash-aroni

Severs 4-6

3 Cups of Macaroni

3/4 Cup Raw Cashews

3 Cups Water, Separated

2 TBSP Oil

1 Medium Red Onion

2 Cloves of Garlic

1 TBSP White Miso

3 TBSP Nutritional Yeast

1/2 tsp Chili Powder

1 1/2 Cups Cooked and Mashed Red Kuri Squash*

* I like a lot of different varieties of squash and have the luxury of being able to get ahold of them regularly, but if you are unable to find Red Kuri, Butternut Squash will also work just fine.

**I haven’t called for the addition of salt in this recipe because miso is inherently very high in sodium so I felt that the recipe didn’t need any extra. You should test it as you go though and adjust for taste if you want to season with salt.

Soak the cashews in a medium sized bowl with cool water for 30 minutes up until overnight.

Prepare pasta according to box directions.

When you are ready, chop the onion and garlic cloves.  Heat oil in a medium sized pot on medium high heat and add onions.  Stir to coat and cook for 5 minutes before adding garlic.  Cook for several minutes longer.

Meanwhile, put drained cashews, miso, nutritional yeast, chili powder and 2 cups of water into a blender and blend until smooth.

Add to pot with onions and garlic.  Reduct heat to medium and stir in squash.  Add remaining water 1/2 cup at a time- you may need more or less depending on thickness.

Cook for several minutes longer before removing from heat and tossing mixture into blender once again and blend until smooth.

2 thoughts on “Mac and Cheese Squash-aroni

    • Kelsey Marcus says:

      Thank you so much! I’m thrilled to have gotten some recipes accepted and now I’m just working on upping my photography skills to hopefully get more accepted in the future :)Almost all of the squash with edible skin are my favorites: delicata, red kuri and kabocha- yum~Thanks for stopping by and checking out my page!

      Like

Leave a Reply

