Fall Harvest Oatmeal with Pears

Have you ever cooked up something ridiculously delicious at home once, knew what you used to make it and then tried to recreate it later and it was a flop?  

Of course you do.  I’m sure we all have and that’s what happened with this guy.  I mean, it really isn’t a complicated recipe but when I tried to make it again it didn’t work out.

I was bummed.

I realized what it was though- it was the pears.  You see, at work we got in the most amazing pairs one week (and only a small shipment, mind you) and then didn’t see any more for weeks after.  The grocery store had some mediocre options that I tried and it just didn’t taste right.  Then, last week we got another (small) batch of pears so you bet your booty (betting booties- is that a thing?  Well whatever people bet, that’s what you should do) I picked up a bunch!  

And guess what?  The recipe worked out fantastically and I realized that for this recipe, at least, only the sweetest of pears will do.  I mean, other pears will do but it’s best with really sweet bartlett pears.

You add in the natural sweetness of the pears and pair it with cinnamon, cardamom, fresh chopped pecans and a little maple syrup and you, my friend, have yourself a winner.

Fall Harvest Oatmeal

Serves 3-4

1 Cup of Rolled Oats

1 3/4 Cup Milk (I liked vanilla almond milk the best for this)

pinch of salt

2 Small Bartlett Pears

1/2 tsp Cinnamon

1/4 tsp Cardamom

Chopped Pecans

Maple Syrup

In a medium pot, bring the milk to a simmer and add the oats and a small pinch of salt.  Cook for several minutes and in the meantime, chop up your pears.  Once the oats have begun to soften, reduce heat and stir in the pears, cinnamon and cardamom.  Cook for several minutes longer until most of the milk is absorbed and the oats are cooked through.  

Serve and top with chopped pecans and maple syrup!

2 thoughts on “Fall Harvest Oatmeal with Pears

  1. Julia says:

    Those pears!!! By golly, they look so amazing! I love that you left them nice and big so that you can really sink your teeth into them while you’re eating the oatmeal. UGH! I must try! Recipe flops happen to allllll of us – so happy you tried this one again because it looks marvelous!

    Like

    • Kelsey Marcus says:

      Thanks- yeah I usually like to keep my fruits chunky- especially if they’re super delicious on their own! I’ve really been trying to up my game on recipes and really test and adjust a few times (if I can) so that I feel more confident about them before I share them. Recipe flops just make sure I know what not to do I guess, right?

      Like

Leave a Reply

