Belated Weekend Roundup

Last weekend got a little busy with a changing work schedule and bringing with it (of course) several tests to complete.

Saturday was a rainy day and while I spend a lot of time preparing for said tests (which I took that evening) I got to spend some nice quality time with my mom.  We did some cleaning/organizing (read: went through old magazines to decide what to discard), cooking and baking.  I also got to lug her off to the gym in the am!  Win!

Sunday I worked most of the day and then left to go see Evita! at the Kennedy Center.

All in all, not a bad weekend.

Oh also, this happened:

Yeah.  Crazy right?  I mean, I’ve definitely seen some interesting tubers but this one takes the cake.

But back to business. Some other things I enjoyed from this week are as follows:

The New York Times had an interesting article about the different types of breakfasts children eat around the world.

If you are a crazy Mason Jar fanatic like me and use your jars for things other than canning (after I’ve used up its contents of course!) then check out reCap’s awesome Kickstarter.

I also made this amazing recipe for Almond Biscotti from Eat the Love. My first attempt at making biscotti and oh boy was it good!


I’m also in love with this recipe for Sopa Verde de Elote over at 101 Cookbooks. I haven’t had a chance to make it yet but with the warm corn and zucchini to me it just exemplifies the end of summer and the beginning of fall.

I find a lot of fall and Halloween decor to be kind of cheesy but when I saw this at Camille Styles I thought it was just right! Cute Halloween printables!

And finally, I’ve been working my way though The Kitchn’s Cooking School which has been very informative and a lot of fun! It’s 20 lessons in 20 days with each day focusing on a different cooking lesson complete with videos and several options for homework assignments. Best of all- it’s FREE!


Anyway, even though it’s already Tuesday- I hope you all have a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

