French Onion Soup (Vegetarian/Vegan Friendly)

Oh my gosh you guys, it’s been forever since I’ve actually sat down and made a recipe for you all!  I’ve made a few flops but they weren’t worthy of sharing (obviously).

I’ve recently been trying to go back to the basics- relearn my foods and how to make my different veggies “sing”.  I still have so much to learn with cooking and am excitedly continuing along.

I like this recipe because it involves nothing complicated or strange.  Very short list of simple ingredients but through time and patience creates something of magic.  I wanted to try and go back to the basic idea of this page- simple ingredients and time; you don’t need anything more to make an amazing, delicious meal.

I love how something so sharp and pungent as an onion can be tamed into something so sweet and delicious.  For this recipe I prefer using mushroom broth if you are able to find it- I feel that it adds a little more savory to the recipe while still allowing it to be vegetarian friendly (most french onion soup recipes use beef broth or chicken broth).

Give this recipe a try when you have a lot of time.  It takes very minimal active effort but several hours to make (I think all in all it took me almost 3 hours!).

French Onion Soup

Serves 2-3

6 Cups Red or Yellow Onions, diced

1/4 Cup Butter (use margarine to make vegan!) 

Salt/Pepper

2 tsp Herbs de Provence

1/2 Cup Port

6 Cups Mushroom Broth, separated (veggie broth would also work)

In a large pot. heat the butter on medium heat for several minutes until melted, then add the onions.  Toss for several minutes to coat before turning burner to low/medium-low.  Season with salt and cook for an hour and 15 minutes (stirring occasionally) until onions are a nice dark golden color and have caramelized nicely.

Turn heat to medium/medium-high and add pepper, herbs and port wine.  Allow it to simmer and absorb liquid (about 10-15 minutes) before adding 4 cups of the broth.  Simmer for 30 minutes to allow it to cook down before adding remaining 2 cups of broth.  Cook for 10 minutes longer and adjust seasoning accordingly.  

Garnish as you would like (fresh slices of bread and some parmesan maybe?)

Serve and enjoy!

Thank you for visiting, Please follow and share!!!

Leave a Reply

