Book Signings (with Chloe Coscarelli and The Kitchn)

Tuesday evening brought some fun events for me in which I went to not one but two book signings!  

My initial intention with visiting NYC was to attend Chloe Coscarelli’s book signing for her newest book Chloe’s Vegan Italian Kitchen. I was lucky enough to be able to snag tickets for it so of course I immediately bought a bus ticket and figured I’d ask questions and figure out the details later (spontaneity, right?).


I had gone wandering around Chelsea earlier that day and discovered that The Kitchn also had a book signing scheduled for that night for their new book The Kitchn Cookbook. I was bummed that it was at the same time but hoped that if I left before 8 I’d be able to make the tail end of it.

Now in all honesty here, I haven’t been to a lot of book signings.  When I was little I went to some for illustrated children’s books with my mom.  Other than that, I’ve only recently started going to signings which has really been in response with my continued love of cooking and my more recent ability to be on top of the newest, most exciting books to come out (har har!).

In the end I was able to go to both book signings and it was wonderful to see how different they were.  The way that Chloe’s was intimate, personal and full of food for all (much like an Italian gathering), The Kitchn’s hit the opposite spectrum- packed full of freshly-made, cocktail-brandishing socialites in excitable bustles of conversation.

Chloe was wonderful – the epitome of a perfect host.  Full of smiles and happy to answer questions and help her attendees out personally.  There was (of course) wine and while she answered questions, food was served.  There were White Bean Crostini with Pomegranate and Mint, delicious Meatball Sliders (which were scarfed down so quickly that I couldn’t get a picture!) and of course, cupcakes -I would expect no less from the winning Cupcake Wars contestant!  These ones were Tiramasu!

After leaving The Natural Gourmet Institute (where the event was hosted), I headed down to West Elm for the next signing.

And boy it was packed!

I went straight to the cocktail bar and grabbed an Old Fashioned before fighting my way over to the line to purchase the book (snagging little appetizers all the while from waiters as they rushed by) and then to the line to get it signed.  Despite the crowds and how late it already was, Sara Kate Gillingham and Faith Durand were full of energy (behind me a woman bought 6 books and they excitedly asked if it was ok to take a picture of her pile).

All in all, it was an enjoyable evening.

Afterwards Mr. C and I passed by Trader Joe’s to pick up a few items before heading home and relaxing while watching “The Mind of a Chef” and the next morning I headed back to Maryland.

When I lived in the city I was never much of a social person.  Partying and bars were never my thing but these days I’m thinking maybe I just never found the right sort of things for me when I was there.  When I go back I hope to try harder at finding them.

Leave a Reply

