Lazy Friday Mornings – A Pineapple Grows in Maryland

These days I work most weekends, or at least most Saturdays, so I don’t really have a typical “weekend”.  Consequently, I take my relaxing mornings whenever I can get them.  My mom has every other Friday off and this happens to be one of them.

I’ve been enjoying tea while perusing my book Super Delish that I recently had the pleasure of having signed by Jessica over at How Sweet Eats.

But it’s been a slow kind of morning as I also work on my social media stuff and my mom sits in her chair reading her book while John Denver plays from the kitchen.  

All and all, a pretty great morning.

Our elderly cat B.C. has been enjoying sitting outside.

And Charlie, the cutest, most wonderful dog in the world (no I am not biased because he’s my dog- these are obviously facts) was being Charlie.

But there has been some excitement!

We finally harvested and ate our pineapple!

Let me explain.

About five years ago (we discussed it for a while to determine exactly how long ago it really was) we cut off the top of a pineapple and planted it.

And it sat there.

And sat there.

And we waited.

And it sat there.

Growing slowly.

Fast forward five years later: 

As I documented to Instagram and Facebook, during the summer a small green pineapple began to grow!

It was so exciting!  Eventually it turned yellow and this past weekend we decided to harvest it.

And what a glorious pineapple it was!

(It's not the biggest pineapple but I decided that it would look best offset by my pink pi's of course!)

(It’s not the biggest pineapple but I decided that it would look best offset by my pink pi’s of course!)

(Sorry- I'm really not the best with process shots- but I'm working on it!)

(Sorry- I’m really not the best with process shots- but I’m working on it!)

And for the moment of truth- it was time to cut it up and eat it!

And it was the best pineapple we’ve ever had.  Low in acidity, high in sweet deliciousness- almost like vanilla bean!

So now what?  You may ask.

Now we’ll get ready to plant the pineapple top from this one and wait another five years.

We’re hoping if we plant it in a bigger pot from the get-go it may take less time.  We shall see.

Have you ever planted a pineapple?  Any luck or advice?

Leave a Reply

