Curried Chickpea Sandwich for Big Kids

My two weeks of summer “break” are over and today starts my first day of my classes for the fall. I’m only taking online classes however, so it leaves me with some more freedom this semester.

And with that freedom I can make more sandwiches and awesome lunches.

I’ve had a lot on my mind recently and like the super mature person that I am (and how I typically deal with most problems), have decided to completely ignore some serious, will-have-a-huge-impact-on-my-future-in-the-next-few-months, decision-making.  I will deal with it when the time comes and when I have more information that I can feel confident in making a decision.

Ok, I lie.  The decision has (unfortunately) already been made and it’s really just a matter of “when”.  The “when” is the area that I am avoiding.

Either way, I have been choosing to ignore thinking about my immanent future and have been working on staying away from any serious thought and contemplation.

How have I been doing this?

With the skills I carefully mastered through years of special training in high school and college: The Art of Procrastination.

This involves a lot of nothing.  Watching tv, taking naps, wandering around aimlessly, spending hours at the gym.

To the untrained eye, this may appear to be a skill anyone can achieve but it truly is an art form.  

Continuously ignoring the issues at hand takes quite a bit of work and can affect many of your other habits.  In my case, it has affected my cooking.  I have been much less creative and inspired as of late and continue to wonder, “What should I make??”  Even if there are things I should make or have ideas of making, I just don’t feel like actually doing it.

I have begun to lose interest in my beloved summer produce and am now ready for the fall.

So, in stepping away from my more recent produce-inspired posts I decided to make a recipe from something I make quite often but never bothered to actually measure out.

I make this sandwich quite often but usually just throw the ingredients and spices together and adjust until it’s just right.  This time though, I did it with measuring spoons and cups so that I would know what exactly “just right” is.

And ironically, this recipe comes out right when school has started again so it’s an easy meal to prepare and pack for later on in the day for yourself or someone else.

Win win, right?

I’m so on top of it.

In some areas, at least.

Curried Chickpea Sandwich

Serves 2

Sandwich:

4 Slices of Bread

4 Slices of Tomato

Handful of Spinach

Chickpea Mash:

1 Medium Carrot

1 Cup Chickpeas, cooked and drained

1/8 tsp Garlic Powder

1/4 tsp Onion Powder

1/2 tsp Cumin Powder

1 tsp Curry Powder

Dried Chili Flakes (to taste)

3 TBSP Mayo

Chickpea Mash: Wash and peel the carrot before grating it over a medium bowl.  Take your chickpeas and toss them into a blender or food processor and process until they are broken down (but don’t let them become a paste!) and add to bowl with grated carrot.  Toss in the rest of the ingredients* in the chickpea mash and mix well to combine.

*Note: if you don’t like really spiced things, tone it down by using less curry and cumin powder

Sandwich assembly:

Toast the bread and place a tomato slice on two slices of bread.  Add a small handful of spinach onto two of the slices and top with some chickpea mash.  Top with another slice of tomato and bread.

Eat right away or pack it up for later!

 

 

Leave a Reply

