A Little Introduction to Purslane!

I swear, every week Maryland goes into full swing with more produce being in season and doesn’t seem to be slowing down!  Between corn, blueberries, blackberries and melons it’s pretty serious business.

This week we’ve gone melon crazy- between cantaloupe, honeydew varieties and watermelon our hands are full!  Everyday I take home one or two cantaloupes so I’ve been having a lot of fruit salads for breakfasts and snacks.  I’ve also been blending them in with smoothies almost every morning.

But you know me, I love my greens- no smoothie is complete without something green in it!  And with that introduction I’d like to talk a little about purslane!

While “purslane” is the common name I am familiar with, it also goes by its more scientific name, “Portulaca oleracea” or “P. oleracea“.  It is a weed and wild edible that can be found in growing heartily in many gardens (however I was first introduced to it in the CSA in Brooklyn and subsequently found it available for purchase at the local Green Markets from time to time).  It has a nice flavor that is similar to spinach and can be eaten raw in salads as well as cooked.  It is incredibly high in Vitamin E and in Omega-3 fatty acids.

So if you find these growing around in your garden give them a try!  When I blend them I stick everything in the blender (stems and all).

Purslane and Cantaloupe Smoothie – Serves 1

1 Cup Purslane

2 Cups Cantaloupe

1 Scoop Vanilla Protein Powder

1/2 Cup Almond Milk

1/2 Cup Water

Blend Away!

Leave a Reply

