Chilled Gazpacho- The Ultimate Raw Food

I’ve been holding onto this recipe for a while.  Partially because tomatoes haven’t quite been in season yet and partially -ok, mostly- because I misplaced the recipe.  In fact, to date, I have not found the recipe.  I finally gave up hunting for it and decided I would just have to throw it together again and make sure my memory of it was correct before sharing.  (It was.)

Now when tomato season comes in I’m known to go a little tomato crazy. As in, I get pounds and pounds and pounds of different varieties, panic because I can’t eat that many tomatoes at once and then proceed to buy more. It almost becomes compulive- I just can’t stop; so many beautiful varities tht are incredibly rich with flavor. I typically end up canning up many of them, make tomato sauces, BBQ sauces, salsas, and my ever favorite, Curried Tomato Jam. But first and foremost, I like eating them raw- just in nice little slices. Maybe with a dash of salt, olive oil and some fresh herbs. When it’s tomato season you just can’t go wrong.

Most things that are ripe and in season should first and foremost be enjoyed raw.  Cook them, bake them, roast and boil them but first, enjoy them for what they are, in their simplest, most honest state.

Gazpacho is a wonderful soup for summer because it’s cool, quick and simple simple to prepare but also because it respects the ingredients.  It takes everything at face value.  If you have poor produce, you’ll know immediately.  This soup does not lie and it doesn’t disguise so make sure to use only the best ingredients.

So really, when you get down to it, there’s no reason not to make it.

 

Gazpacho – Serves 3-4

3 Large Tomatoes

1 Medium Cucumber

2 Cloves of Garlic

2 TBSP Red Wine Vinegar

1/2 tsp Cumin

1 Green Bell Pepper

1 tsp Hot Sauce

Salt

Chop up two of the tomatoes and half of the cucumber (set aside the remaining tomatoes and cucumber)  and the entire bell pepper.  Toss tomatoes, cucumber, garlic, vinegar, cumin, bell pepper and hot sauce (more or less to taste) into a blender.  Blend until smooth.  Chop up the last tomato and remaining cucumber half and toss in blender along with some salt.  Pulse to combine for a more rustic, chewy texture.

 

And also, enjoy this picture of Zoie, my mom’s dog.

Zoie is so photogenic!

Zoie is so photogenic!

Leave a Reply

