Strawberry Shortcake Smoothie (and a talk about goals and priorities)

I’ve put myself back into the “super busy/over-fill you schedule” point again.  The work hours at the farmer’s market have been increasing and taking a 5 week Anatomy and Physiology+Lab course really has me running!  Going to the gym and keeping in shape has unfortunately gone on the back burner for the time being.  

I believe in making no excuses with regards to sticking with your goals- if you really want something bad enough then find a way to make it work!  But I also believe that when people talk about “no excuses” they also typically ignore the idea of priorities.  What I mean is that when you make a goal for yourself, you need to consider where it realistically sits on your priorities.  If it’s pretty high up there, then you need to keep that in mind and make no excuses for yourself.  If it’s a goal, but you have other important priorities that trump it, then you need to think about your realistic intentions with those other priorities in mind.

When I was competing it took priority over everything honestly.  Even school work and studying took a dip because working out, food prep, posing practice and everything else related to the competition took priority in my mind.  There were occasions when an exam was coming up or a paper was due that my priorities shifted (as they rightly should!) but I didn’t loose sight of my competition goals and I figured out a way to juggle it all and get it to work.  No excuses!

Currently however, seeing as my next show won’t be until next year and while I want to be working out more often than I have and keep living at the gym, my priorities are my intensive 5 week Anatomy and Physiology+Lab class and keeping on point with my new job.  Does that mean I give up entirely and stop going to the gym?  No- of course not!  It just means that I might not get as many workouts in over the next few weeks as I’d like because doing well and studying for this class takes priority.  I’ve accepted that.  After all, it’s not forever.

You should always have goals and priorities in life, but make sure that you acknowledge which ones take higher precedence and which ones sit lower.  I think it’s important for everyone to make sure they organize their priorities to make educated decisions in their day-to-day life that fit within their priorities.  If you have sight of the goals you have considered and determined to be top priority for yourself you stand a better chance of sticking to them and making no excuses to achieve them.

In a quest to keep healthy and on point with my goals while not getting too side-tracked during my gym “away” hours I’ve been making a lot more protein smoothies packed with healthy fruits and veggies. I’ve been loving the Vanilla Vega One Nutritional Shake and using it in my smoothies. I love the taste and that it has a hint of sweetness to it. Between the protein, fiber, greens, omega-3’s and antioxidants I know I’m getting my complete breakfast no matter what else I toss into the blender! For me, it’s a great way to get a healthy start on my morning.

Strawberry Shortcake Smoothie – Serves 1-2

1 Scoop Vega One Vanilla
2 Cups Strawberries
3 TBSP Raw Hemp Seeds
2 Cups Coconut Milk

1 tsp Vanilla Extract (optional)

Toss into a blender and blend!  The Vega One Nutritional Shake can really make the smoothie thicken up so make sure to drink it right away!

Leave a comment