Green Goddess Dressing

Ah yes, the ever-present “Green Goddess Dressing”.  I hear that name slung around a lot the moment flowers start popping up out of the ground.  Everyone has their own take on it so it can really have a lot of different tastes and flavors but the key is: it’s gotta be green, baby!  Hopefully mine’s up to par!

Now you may have noticed that I don’t post a lot of salad recipes on this page.  Despite being big into leafy greens and produce, I’m not super big into salads.  I mean, I usually like them when they’re all fancy and made by someone else, but I’m really not the best at making them myself.  It’s silly, I know, but a salad has to have the right balance of flavors and textures and I’m usually just too lazy to do so.  I like tossing things together and calling it a day (hello roasted veggies with a marinade!).

That’s why I like the idea of a green goddess dressing- depending on how you make it it can be very versatile and extremely flavorful.  For the purposes of this recipe, I put it over a mixed greens salad with sliced Fuji apples and red onions, but I’ve also poured it over a cauliflower “couscous” recipe I just threw together today.  Because it’s made from a lot of seasonal herbs and delicious fats, it adds a nice flavor punch to many different things.

So give it a try and play around with it!

Green Goddess Dressing

1/2 Hass Avocado, peeled and pitted

2 Dates, pitted

1 TBSP Fresh Dill

1 TBSP Fresh Chives

1/4 Cup Cilantro

3 TBSP Tahini

1 1/2 TBSP Lemon Juice

Salt, to taste

1/2 Cup of Water

Blend all ingredients together except water.  Add water 1 TBSP at a time until desired consistency is reached (You may prefer a thicker or thinner dressing depending on how you want to use it).  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

