Figure Competition

It’s been a while since my last post, I know.  My competition was about a week and a half ago and it’s taken me a while to get to actually writing this post.  My boyfriend keeps pushing me to write about my experience so I guess I should finally do it lol.

First and foremost, I didn’t place in the figure competition.  At the time I was very frustrated because I felt (and still do feel) that I should have placed within my class but by now I’m ok with it.

I mean, let’s be honest here- I looked FANTASTIC.  I was lean, I was cut, I had muscular definition.  I looked amazing. (No, I’m not the most modest of ladies, but if you’ve been following my page you probably already know that.)

In the end though, I guess I didn’t have what the judges were looking for.  I requested feedback and amongst other things, I really need to work more on upper body definition (specifically shoulders) and to tone my hamstrings more.  

I’m taking away from this the fact that I know I looked amazing.  I worked incredibly hard and it showed, no matter what the judges think.

Do I plan on doing another show?  Yes, however I’ve decided to aim for another one early next year.  I want to really focus the next 8 months on really building more muscle so that next time around there’s no question that I should place.  I want to blow my competition away.

All this being said, I learned a lot during this experience not only about show preparation, but about myself and my own limits.  I made a lot of rookie mistakes but I pushed through and persevered and now I know what to do (and a .lot of what not to do) for next time.  This was probably one of the hardest things I’ve ever done but I learned that I really can stay focused and stick to a long term, extremely mentally, emotionally and physically challenging goal.

But now that this competition is done, I have learned many more things about myself.  These competitions are in many ways, very similar to the fashion and modeling world.  This is not the way we, competitors, look on a daily basis.  The goal of this whole preparation was to “peak” right around my show date to be as lean, cut, and muscular as possible on that day (proper posing form is also paramount).  It is not possible to maintain this look for extended periods of time and to be open and straight forward, by the Monday after the competition I had already put on 8lbs (I lost about 14 from the start of my prep).  A lot of it is water weight from the extra sodium and carbs I started consuming from after I finished my competition diet but some of it is definitely fat.  Yes, I am now much puffier than you see in these pictures but to be honest, I’m ok with it.  

Now, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t wish I could look like I did on my show day all the time, but at the same time, life is about balance.  I enjoy being able to go out and eat and drink with friends again.  I’m still working on balancing out because if you follow my Instagram page (the link is on my main page) you probably noticed I went on quite the bender last week when I was back in NYC- wayy too many sweets and carbs.  It’s extremely hard to adjust after being on such a strict diet where everything is measured out and planned to the gram beforehand- I am basically having to learn how to eat and maintain self control again.

I kind of made myself sick the week I went back to NYC but now that I’m back in Maryland I’m enjoying playing around in the kitchen, playing with real foods, fresh produce and not having to measure out everything exactly.  I’m still working on it though because I have gone on a few too many trips to the peanut butter jar since I got back…

That being said, I am impressed and astounded with my body’s ability to adapt and adjust to change- to work with the stress I put on it daily.  Now that I’m back to a more normal, higher carb and fat diet, I’ve been able to lift so much heavier.  It’s been amazing.

I’ve also started adjusting my workout “stack” to prepare and recover better for bulking. I’ve started trying out more of Vega’s amazing products. During my prep I had been using a lot of their Vega Sport Protein Powders and Vega One in my morning shakes (remember this smoothie recipe? )
but hadn’t expanded past that. Now I really wish I had! Since I’ve really started working on building again and using their Pre-Workout Energizer and Recovery Accelerator I’ve noticed a big difference in my strength during workouts and a quicker recovery time afterwards. Just today I hit a personal record for shoulder presses and it felt amazing! Yesterday I did a SERIOUS hamstring workout and was surprised to find this morning that I wasn’t nearly as sore as I would have been otherwise. Yay for not being too sore!! I’m really hoping that as I continue to test products and learn more about myself and building that I’ll really be able to progress these next 8 months.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

