Gluten Free Tropical Coconut Loaf

So it’s my birthday today.  Yay me!

Honestly though, it doesn’t feel like it.  In fact, with my competition coming up all my time and “countdown” dedication has been towards that.  This week has kind of been like “Oh, I guess my birthday is on Friday…ok.  My competition is in 15 days- ALMOST THERE.”

I have to admit, I’m a little bummed though because there will be no cake or drinking for me- not this close to my stage date.  However in talking with my diet coach, I do get to do a cheat meal on my birthday (nothing crazy though!) so we’ll be going out to eat somewhere which is nice 🙂  I already have my meal and the necessary adjustments for it planned out.

All that being said though. I’ve been dying to cook and bake the past few weeks.  I’ve been working hard to stay on track but as I was looking at recipes yesterday (this is a torture that I currently partake in several times a day- I look at recipes all day of things I can’t eat and store them away under “things to make after my competition is done”) something clicked and it was like “I HAVE TO BAKE SOMETHING NOW.”

So I did.  And surprisingly, it came out quite well I think!

I cheated a bit on my diet and ate some, I’ll admit.  But the rest is for my mom as a little “Thank you” for putting up with my “hangry-ness” (aka, my short temper around food etc because of my strict – read *bland*- diet).

Now for someone who doesn’t really do gluten free baking, I sure do have a lot of interesting gluten free flours- soy, coconut, rice- all sorts!  I guess it comes with the territory of being a baker and recipe fanatic.  I’m always fascinated by new, “weird” things- challenges, if you will.

To be honest though, I’ve never had any luck with using coconut flour before this.  Yesterday though, I saw a recipe for a loaf made of coconut flour and fresh chopped strawberries and that was that: I wanted to make something with coconut flour.

Now this recipe looks nothing at all like the one that inspired it but I think it turned out quite well and I hope you enjoy it too!

Gluten Free Tropical Coconut Loaf- makes 1 loaf

1 Banana

1/4 Cup Unsweetened Applesauce

1 TBSP Chia Seeds

1/4 Cup Plain Almond Milk

1/4 Cup Pineapple Juice

3 TBSP Walnut Oil

1/2 Cup Coconut Flour

1/2 tsp Baking Powder (gluten-free)

Pinch salt

1/4 tsp Cinnamon

1/4 tsp Cardamom

2 TBSP Coconut Sugar

1/4 cup Chopped Pineapple

1 TBSP Unsweetened Cacao Nibs

2 Dates, Pitted and Chopped

Preheat oven to 350F.

Mash banana in a large bowl and add in applesauce, chia seeds, almond milk, pineapple juice and walnut oil.  In a separate bowl mix dry ingredients: coconut flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, cardamom and coconut sugar.  Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until just combined.  Fold in pineapple, cacao nibs and dates.

Spread into a small sprayed bread pan (mine was 22x11x6cm) and bake for 45 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

