Spring Salad with Mango, Crumbled Tofu and Strawberry Vinaigrette

Yay! It finally feels like spring! The weather has been consistently warm and wonderful. I’m ignoring the fact that it’s supposed to rain later today-rain is ok.

But first and foremost, Happy Earth Day!

Yay Earth!  

There are a lot of ways you can help the Earth but for me I like to take daily steps to Reduce, Reuse and Recycle.  That means bringing your own bags (I like to keep some cloth bags in my car and a small fold-able one in my purse)!) and reusable water bottles places so you don’t need to get extras when shopping or when you get thirsty.  If you don’t remember every time that’s ok but it’s important to make the effort when you can!

I usually cook and prepare my own meals but when I eat out band have leftovers or order to-go, instead of throwing them out afterwards I will reuse the plastic take-out containers for when I pack my own meals until the containers fall apart.  This helps me to avoid buying Tupperware containers and other such things.  

Buying locally and avoiding industrially farmed foods and products also has a substantial impact as well.

These are just a few things to consider.

Now that that’s all been said, let’s enjoy some salad!

Spring Salad with Mango, Crumbled Tofu and Strawberry Vinaigrette – Serves 2

3 Cups Spinach

3 Cups Romaine

1/4 Cup Sliced Almonds

1/5 Block extra Firm Tofu

1/2 Mango, sliced

2 Strawberries, Sliced

Vinaigrette

1/4 cup strawberries

2 TBSP Orange Juice

1 TBSP Golden Balsamic Vinaigrette

2 TBSP EVOO

Salt/Pepper

Toss all vinaigrette ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth- add salt and pepper to taste.

Drain tofu, pat dry and crumble.  Toss ingredients together and sliced strawberries on top to garnish.  Drizzle with vinaigrette and serve!

2 thoughts on “Spring Salad with Mango, Crumbled Tofu and Strawberry Vinaigrette

    • Kelsey Marcus says:

      Thanks! You’ll need to use an extra firm variety (I’ve been using Trader Joe’s Extra Firm High Protein Tofu which has been awesome!). If you want to add a little extra pizazz, crumble it into a bowl and mix in 1 TBSP balsamic vinegar to it before putting it onto the salad- yummy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

