Spiced Rye Bread with Orange Zest

Now you probably wouldn’t guess based off of the recipes I post on this page, but my family, myself included, love baking (especially desserts!).  Cakes, cupcakes, breads, pies- you name it, we do it.

But ever since I started preparing for competition I’ve been staying away from breads and sweets as much as possible.  So no more baking 😦  Which I miss quite a bit but I know I it’s not forever- just until May 10th – then I’ll be making up for lost time! πŸ˜‰

I have a bread mixer but I do love kneading bread by hand..

I have a bread mixer but I do love kneading bread by hand..

But with Easter coming up I wanted to make something special for it.  So I went through our family “archives” and made some adjustments to a rye bread recipe we in our family cookbook.  If you can’t tell, I LOVE spices, so I made sure to spice it up a bit so I hope you enjoy!

Spiced Rye Bread with Orange Zest – makes 10 rolls

1 Package Yeast

4 TBSP Non-Dairy Butter, melted

2 Cups Original Unsweetened Almond Milk

1/3 Cup Maple Syrup

2 tsp Salt

2 tsp Allspice

1/2 tsp Ground Cloves

Zest from One Orange

5 1/2 Heaping Cups of Flour (mixed in any ratio: white, whole wheat and rye)

2 tsp Oil

In a microwave or a pot, heat the milk until it is lukewarm and add yeast (you don’t want it too hot though or it will kill the yeast!) .  In a large bowl add melted butter, almond milk. maple syrup, salt, allspice, cloves, orange zest and half the flour.  Mix well and then begin to knead bread on a hard, stable surface for 5 minutes, adding the rest of the flour as needed.

Add oil to a large bowl and place dough in bowl, rotating so that oil is dispersed.  Cover with a damp cloth and let it rest in a warm place for 40 minutes.  Shape into 10 even rolls, place on a nonstick baking sheet, cover and let rest for 20-30 more minutes.

Heat oven to 475F and bake for 10-12 minutes until tops are slightly browned.

This bread tastes great on it’s own or with some butter and jam spread on top or some chocolate peanut butter…not that I tried that…nope, not me! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

