Curried Tofu Scramble

Ahh, the tofu scramble.  A classic amongst non-egg eaters.  For others, maybe not so much.

But if you look at it, it doesn’t look too suspicious- right?  Looks potentially edible for the questionable homosapien.  Colors help, of course.  I do love a brightly colored dish myself, but then, I was a Fine Arts major in undergrad.

Now, maybe it’s because there really aren’t a lot of Indian restaurants out here in Southern Maryland, but I’ve really been into my curry spices recently.  Not that I do Indian food any justice with my home cooking- it’s a real art and talent which I just don’t have.  But I like to pretend and I still enjoy some good ‘ol curry and cumin spices.

That being said, give this protein packed breakfast scramble a try!

Curried Tofu Scramble – Serves 2

1 14oz Package Firm Tofu

2 tsp Madras Curry Powder

1 tsp Cumin

1/2 tsp Red Chili Flakes (more or less depending on desired spiciness)

Kala Namak Salt (Black Salt)- optional

1/2 Yellow Onion, chopped

1 1/2 tsp Coconut Oil

6 Stalks Asparagus, chopped into 1 in pieces

1/2 Sweet Red Bell Pepper, chopped

1/2 Tomato, chopped

Nutritional Yeast – optional

Drain tofu and press with paper towels to remove excess moisture.  You really want to squeeze out as much moisture as possible!  Crumble tofu into a large bowl and mix in curry, cumin and chili flakes.  I like to add some kala namak salt (also known as “black salt” to mine because it has a sort of egg-y, sulfuric smell and taste to it but if you can’t get ahold of that then just use regular salt.

Heat a nonstick pan to medium heat with coconut oil and add onion.  Saute until translucent, then add the asparagus, bell pepper and tomato.  Cook for several minutes until tomato is soft then add tofu mixture.  Cook for several minutes until tofu is warmed and all ingredients are well combined.  

Serve and top with nutritional yeast if desired (I love my cheesy nutritional yeast!)

Leave a Reply

