Healthy Orange Julius

Good morning everyone and happy Friday!  We’ve made it through another week!  The weather has been sunny and warm and my mom and I have been planting away herbs and fresh greens in the garden.  Spring is going to be wonderful this year- I just hope it stays for a while before summer starts!

When we were planting out in the sun I wanted to make something frosty and delicious.  This is actually a recipe that has been in the back of my head for probably half a year or more now and I’ve just never gotten around to making it.

Now you may be wondering why this is green. I had been somewhat surprised myself, actually, seeing as it doesn’t have any “greens” in it. Recently I started trying some of Vega’s Vega One Nutritional Shakes. I ordered the Vanilla Chai but was given samples for a few of their other flavors. For this shake I decided to try out “French Vanilla” which turned out to be green oddly enough which changed the color of my smoothie! It was a surprise but it sure did taste good!

Healthy Orange Julius -Serves 1-2

1 Scoop Vanilla Protein (such as Vega One or Vega Sport)

2 Large Navel Oranges

1 1/2 Cups Almond Milk

Stevia (or other sweetener to taste)

Peel oranges, chop and place them in a bowl in the freezer.  Allow them to freeze for several hours (I froze them overnight), then place in a blender with the rest of the ingredients.  Blend away!  You may need to add more almond milk or some water if it is too thick.

Now don’t you feel good?

Leave a Reply

