Maple Miso Roasted Carrots

Hello there ladies and gents!  I know I’ve been on a bit of a protein kick lately (and still am) but I wanted to go back to my “roots” a bit, if you will.  I went to the local market a few weeks back and found the CUTEST rainbow heirloom carrots EVER.

I mean look; so adorable.

So of course I wanted to make something special with them.  I decided I wanted something a little sweet and salty to marinade them in and then roast them whole.  I tested out the recipe but forgot a few measurements but when I went back to the market to buy more the week after they no longer had them!  And thus, I had to settle for plain orange heirloom carrots…life is hard.

They don’t look quite as pretty but they taste just as good!

I decided to add some zucchini too for some extra special excitement (ok so maybe it’s not that exciting…).  But feel free to sub with other greens like broccoli or brussels sprouts!

Maple Miso Roasted Carrots – Serves 4

1 lb Heirloom Carrots

2 Small Zucchini (or 1 Medium) – cut into half inch sticks

Marinade:

1/8 Cup Low Sodium Soy Sauce
1/8 Cup EVOO
2 tsp Mustard
1 tsp Red Miso
2 TBSP Maple Syrup

Preheat oven to 375F.  Whisk together marinade, rinse and cut veggies.  If some carrots are thicker than others, cut them in half so that veggies are about equal in thickness.  Toss veggies and marinade together (you may have some leftover marinade) and spread evenly on a pan.  Roast for 20-25 minutes or until carrots are tender.  Serve as a side or on top of some grains such as wheat berries!

Leave a Reply

