Taking Your Food Prep to the Next Level

A few weeks back I made a post about food prep and how one day of relatively effortless food prep can make your work week so much easier with regards to putting together healthy, inexpensive meals FAST. I wanted to expand upon that post a bit with a post about condiments…

I love making condiments!

Hummus, tapenade, pate, salsa, jam, salad dressings, marinades- you name it! I get really excited when I see these different recipes in food magazines, books and blogs because they usually use lots of herbs and spices and are a great way to pump up flavor in a healthy way and incorporate good fats into your meals.

When I prep food on Sunday I keep it simple and to be honest, kind of boring. The beans, grains and veggies I cook are essentially just a base for my meals. They allow for flexibility in meals thought the week but having a selection of condiments available in my fridge make them more flavorful and exciting to eat.

This past Friday I found myself with a few hours of unanticipated free time and promptly organized a bunch of recipes I’ve been wanting to make, headed to the grocery store to pick up ingredients and then spent a few hours cooking up a storm.  It was so much fun but now I have a refrigerator full of condiments that I keep snacking on…oops.

Now these recipes are not of my own making but they are definitely some favorites of mine in terms of health, flavor and versatility.

For a zesty spread try Bon Appetit’s Toast With Lemony Pea Mash. The only change I made was that I used grated lemon zest because I didn’t have preserved peels and I used shelled edamame instead of peas. Super yummy! Or how about some charred eggplant?

They also have a creative and nutritious Tahini Dressing. Great for salads!A lighter hummus? Because who doesn’t love roasted cauliflower?Vegetarian Times also has a great Israeli Couscous and Broccoli Bowl whose roasted red bell pepper sauce is to die for! Seriously, it’s amazing on anything and everything.I also tried out a recipe for Walnut Pate from one of my favorite books The Vegan Cookbook by Love Food. I love so many of their recipes- in fact I haven’t made one that I haven’t loved yet. I also love that they use recipes that primarialy stick to regular ingredients so it’s very user friendly for vegans and non-vegans alike.

This is a slight variation for their recipe for Walnut Pate – Serves 4

1 1/4 Cup Chopped Walnuts

3 Cups Panko Crumbs

1 Small Red Onion, Chopped

1 tsp Dried Tarragon

1 tsp Dried Rubbed Sage

2 TBSP Fresh Cilantro

1 tsp Tomato Paste

2 TBSP Low Sodium Soy Sauce

1 TBSP Red Wine

3 TBSP Red Wine Vinegar

3 TBSP Cold Pressed Olive Oil

Water as Needed

Salt and Pepper, to taste

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl, then process in a food processor until smooth.  Add water  1 tablespoon at a time until a smooth paste is formed.  Serve on toasted bread.

Leave a Reply

