LOVE-ing Me Some Hearty Chia Seed Breakfast Pudding

Chia seeds- kind of a buzz food now huh?  Maybe not as trendy as kale these days, but certainly up there.  I mean, 5 years ago who had even heard of “chia” (other than from those Chi-chi-chi-chia Pet commercials)?  But I digress…buzz food or not, I’m glad it’s here and relatively accessible in grocery stores for all.

With only 3 tablespoons you get:

210 calories, 15g fat, 3g carbs, 18g fiber, 9g protein and Omega-3s!  

I mean, talk about a nutritional powerhouse- these babies are full of everything you need to keep you going during the day!

In preparation for my competition I’ve been doing a lot of morning fasted cardio…which can be hard. Like really hard. I’m the kind of gal that likes to wake up and immediately chow down on some breakfast. So now, not only do I not want to make anything that will remind me that I have to wait over an hour before I can eat it, but I want something really super delicious that will be worth the wait. Quite the conundrum, I know.

This recipe started out as a chia pudding when I had made extra cashew cream and then evolved into an official breakfast item. Which I have been chowing down almost every day for the past two weeks. (What about those protein pancakes that I spoke so adoringly of last week? Yeah, those usually become my second meal when I get home so I can eat them fresh. I’m eating 6-7 meals a day so it’s no biggie)

Chia Seed Breakfast Pudding – Serves 4-6

1/2 cup Raw Cashews
1 1/2 cups Water
1/4 tsp Cinnamon
1/8 tsp Cardamom
Dash of Salt
1 TBSP Maple Syrup
1/4 cup+2 TBSP Chia Seeds
1/2-3/4 cup Fresh/Frozen Fruit

Granola
Almond Milk

First, take the cashews and soak them in water for 30 minutes up until 4 hours.

Drain cashews and in a blender, combine cashews, water, cinnamon, cardamom, salt and maple syrup. Blend until smooth. Pour into a bowl and mix in chia seeds and fruit. Cover and place in the fridge overnight. In the morning scoop out your “pudding” and top with some granola and a little almond milk.

My all-time favorite granola is Love Crunch Dark Chocolate and Red Berries. When I get around to eating my pudding/granola mixture after cardio it has all kind of soaked in a bit and is just the right amount of sweet, mushy and delicious! 😉 Just keep an eye out when you buy granola- often times granola (cereal too!) is filled with sugar so try to find something with less than 10g of sugar per serving. It’s granola- not a candy bar!

Leave a Reply

