Roasted Brussels Sprouts

So there’s this holiday coming up.  You may have heard of it-it’s on Thursday.  You know, the one where everyone eats tons of turkey and food and drink?  Yup, I’m talking about Thanksgiving.

Normally I spend Thanksgiving with my family but because of my busy schedule and desire to have some time to relax (rather than being busy traveling on my few days off) I’ll actually be spending Thanksgiving at a friend’s apartment.  I’m very excited because it’s sort of a “potluck” style Thanksgiving and, even more exciting, all veg.  No turkey, no meat based broth and stuffing, no gelatin filled desserts.  So, not going to lie- I’m really excited.

And of course, being potluck based, I plan on bringing and making LOTS of things.  Since amongst other things, the host plans on making a lentil loaf, I’m planning on making a lot of the sides including, cranberry sauce, stuffing, mashed sweet potatoes, pumpkin pie, apple cranberry pie, carrot, greens and dilly bean (I canned them this summer) vinaigrette and a nice pomegranate cocktail etc.  

I had also planned on making my family’s traditional green beans with slivered almonds but when I went to the greenmarkets on Saturday to buy the items on my Thanksgiving grocery list, low and behold, they are out of season!  I really should have known that…so time to improvise!  And that’s where this recipe comes into play.  Brussels sprouts are pretty awesome (and in season) and would make a great substitute for green beans in terms of a “green thing” on the table.  I wanted to keep this recipe fairly light but still full of flavor so I hope you enjoy!

Roasted Brussels Sprouts (Serves 3-4)

4 cups of Brussels Sprouts

4 TBSP Apple Cider Vinegar

3 TBSP Agave

2 TBSP Whole Grain Mustard

Preheat the oven to 375 and rinse the brussels sprouts. Chop off any stems, remove outer leaves and slice in half.  Place in a large bowl.  Mix vinegar, agave and mustard together in a small bowl (you may want to make extra to drizzle on later) and pour over brussels sprouts.  Toss to coat and place evenly on baking sheet.  Season with salt and pepper and bake for 10-15 minutes or until brussels sprouts have started to whither and are slightly brown.  Serve and enjoy!  These babies taste great fresh from the oven as well as at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

