High Protein Tofu Scramble

Protein, protein, protein…people are always so concerned about their protein intake and much more concerned about yours once you say you are vegan.  To be honest, when I wasn’t training for competition (with the goal of gaining as much muscle as possible) and just working out at the gym for my mental and physical enjoyment, I never worried much about it.  After strenuous weight training days, I would have a protein shake right afterwards but that’s about it.  And guess what?  I was fine!  Unless you are training for something with the goal of gaining a lot of muscle (and fast!), you generally don’t need to stress about your protein intake.  Now mind you, if you are eating a poor diet with lots of processed foods rather than whole foods and veggies, you are probably not going to do as well in terms of health.  But that doesn’t have to do with protein- it has to do with general eating and health habits.

But I digress.

Because I am in fact training for a competition, protein has become the name of the game and being vegan, I do need to pay more attention to what I’m eating and making sure I’m getting my proper daily intake for bulking and muscle growth.

Hence where this little recipe comes along.  I like making tofu scrambles because I can usually toss together whatever other veggies I have in my fridge, spice it up a bit and I’m good to go.  This time, however, I was craving that “egg-y” taste and I think I did a pretty good job in the end.

Now note, this recipe does call for something called “The Vegg” (which is available to purchase online, as I did).  If you don’t have The Vegg, don’t stress.  While it does give this recipe a lot of “egg-y-ness” you can do without it but make sure you add all the other spices and you may want more nutritional yeast.

 High Protein Tofu Scramble – Serves 1-2 (probably closer to 2 but I eat a lot)

2 tsp The Vegg + 1 cup Water

2 tsp Earth Balance Butter

8oz Firm Tofu (I use Trader Joe’s sprouted tofu)

1/4 Onion, chopped

1/3 cup Red Bell Pepper, chopped

1/3 cup Frozen Baby Peas

1/3 cup Crimini Mushrooms, sliced

1/3 cup Chickpeas, cooked

1/2 cup Collard Greens, chopped

2 tsp Nutritional Yeast

1/2 tsp Dried Oregano

1/2 tsp Tamari (or Low Sodium Soy Sauce)

Kala Namak (Black Salt)

Start by blending together The Vegg and water and put aside.  Drain your tofu and press with a paper towel to remove excess liquid then crumble.  Heat non-diary butter (I like Earth Balance) in pan and add chopped onion.  Toss for a few minutes to soften and then add crumbled tofu- toss a few minutes longer.   Add bell pepper, frozen peas, crimini mushrooms and chickpeas and The Vegg mixture.  Stir carefully every now and then and cook until liquid has cooked down (about 10 minutes).  Add collard greens towards the end, along with nutritional yeast, dried oregano, tamari and kala namak.  Sauté a few minutes longer, adjusting seasonings to your personal preferences, serve warm and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

