DIY Spiced Walnut Milk!

Walnut milk??  I hear you, I hear you- it sounds little strange but surprisingly, those bitter walnuts make some pretty sweet milk!  I used to make almond milk a lot until I started experimenting more with different flavors and right now I’d say walnut milk is my favorite. 

Now I like this recipe quite a bit because it has some extra spice to it (and I want to say festive as well but it isn’t Christmas yet) and a little extra flavors added.  It’s also simple and can be made at home with just a blender- nothing fancy.  Also, most nut or soy milks are pasteurized and have additives in them so by making your own you have a delicious, unpasteurized almost completely raw milk!

Spiced Walnut Milk

1/2 Cup Walnuts (+water)

3 Cups Water

1 tsp Raw Agave

1/16th tsp Sea Salt (aka a pinch)

1/4 tsp Pure Vanilla Extract (alcohol free)

1/2 Cinnamon Stick

5 Cloves

Place walnuts in a bowl and cover with water. Soak for at least 30 minutes up until overnight.  Drain nuts and add to blender along with water, agave, sea salt and vanilla extract. Blend on high for 30 sec-1 minute.

Strain milk in cheesecloth or mesh strainer (I use a large tea strainer) into a large liquid container (as you can see I chose a large mason jar). Add cinnamon and cloves.

Cover and refrigerate immediately and for optimal flavor let the flavors blenders overnight.

Use within 4-5 days with cereal, granola, in a smoothie or just as is!  Enjoy!


Leave a Reply

