Eggplant, Tomatoes and Mushrooms – Oh My!

So rember my last post with that beautiful eggplant smile? Well this recipe is where that beautiful eggplant went. And it was oh so beautiful in my stomach as well. Yes indeed-y it was.

And you want to know the best part?  IT TAKES NO TIME TO MAKE!  No seriously, I’m not joking here- I was hurrying to make lunch in the morning before going to work and I whipped it together in no time!

Keep in mind 2 things though:

First of all, I had roasted the eggplant in the oven a few days earlier (when I can, on Sundays I try to roast up lots of veggies, sweet potato and whatever else so I have things prepped for times like these.  That, and when you work out like I do, having roasted sweet potato on hand for the week is a lifesaver ).

Secondly, (and another lifesaver) I used Trader Joe’s “10 Minute Farro”.  Now I don’t work for TJ’s but I am completely in love with their time-saving foods such as this (they also have Bulgar and Barley, I believe).  

I love buying farro, soaking it overnight and cooking it up to perfection, but when I’m in a hurry (or just being lazy) this 10 Minute stuff is amazing.  I mean, how am I supposed to know what grains I want to eat with my meal that day when I haven’t made the meal yet?  Gotta figure that out as I make it, which is never until last minute.

So for me, this recipe serves 1, but if you were to pair it with a nice salad, etc, I’d say you could get away with making it for 2.  Go ahead- make it a sexy, tasty date dish! 😉 

 

  0
  false
 
 
  18 pt
  18 pt
  0
  0
 
  false
  false
  false
 
  
  
  
  
 

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:12.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

Eggplant, Tomatoes and Mushrooms- Oh My! (with a Sweet
Balsamic Glaze) –Serves 1

1 Japanese Eggplant

1 TBSP Grapeseed Oil

½ Yellow Onion, chopped

3 Garlic Scapes, chopped into 1 inch pieces

2 Medium Tomatoes, chopped (remove any excess juice)

¾ Cup Sliced Crimini Mushrooms

1 tsp Dried Oregano

1 tsp Herbs De Provence

2 tsp Agave

1 TBSP Balsamic Vinaigrette

½ cup Farro + 1 Cup Water

Preheat oven to 425. 
Using a fork, poke a few holes in the eggplant and roast for 20-30
minutes or until soft (it’ll “deflate”). 
Remove from oven and allow to cool.  Once it has cooled, peel off skin with your hands and chop
roughly with a knife.   Set
aside.

In a large pan, over medium heat, heat oil and add chopped onion and garlic
scapes.  Sauté for a few minutes
until slightly softened, then add tomatoes, mushrooms, oregano and herbs de
Provence and sauté a few minutes longer before adding the chopped eggplant.  Turn off heat.

In a separate bowl, mix agave and vinaigrette and pour over
vegetables, tossing to combine. 
Season with salt as needed.

For the farro I was lazy and short on time so I used Trader
Joe’s amazing “10 Minute Farro”  If
you are using this, combine farro and water in a pot and bring to a boil, then
reduce heat to a simmer and cover for 8-10 minutes.  Drain any excess liquid and place on plate with vegetable
mixture.

Enjoy!

If you are using regular farro, please check out this link.

Leave a Reply

