Herbed Not-Exactly-Pesto Pasta

Oh geez you guys- I made this a while ago and then lost the recipe.  I’m always amazed how easy it is to lose something in a small apartment.  I mean, losing something in a whole house I get, but a small two bedroom apartment?  I don’t know how, but it happens.  I had written it on the back of an envelope and then misplaced it but alas, I have finally found it!

So once again, I wanted to use up some of the large amount of herbs I received from my mom’s garden.  Now I’m all for basil but I like to keep things a little different.  That, and I have a lot more parsley and mint than I do basil.

Now this isn’t really an official pesto recipe because it doesn’t involve any nuts and of course, it involves different herbs so it’s nice and flavorful!

Enjoy!

 

Herbed Not-Exactly-Pesto Pasta – Serves 2

6 oz Pasta

3/4 Cup Parsley

1/2 Cup Mint

2 Garlic Cloves

1/3 Cup Vegan Parmesan (I use Go Veggie) 

1/2 Cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1/4 Cup Dried Tomato

Cook pasta according to directions and drain.  Toss remaining ingredients in food processor and process until smooth.  Add extra olive oil if needed.  I like to keep the herbs raw so in a large bowl I toss the pesto together with the pasta but if you want to you can add the pasta and pesto in a large pan and toss together over low heat until mixed.  Top with additional parmesan if desired.

 

Leave a Reply

