From Mom’s Garden – Summer Sautéed Squash Salad

A while back my mom came to retrieve her dog (whom I had been dog-sitting) from my dangerous clutches, but also visit me as well.  With her she typically brings fresh herbs from her garden (you know, where I get my “rosemary and thyme” from~) but this time around some of her vegetables were ripe and ready to go!  She brought up one Japanese eggplant, a bunch of large tomatoes and small golden tomatoes, and lots and lots of yellow squash.

An unofficial photo taken by my mom with my cell phone but it does accurately describe my excitement (please don’t judge me by my messy kitchen!  It just means I use it a lot!). Fresh garden veggies are always exciting and the eggplant plant was one I had specially selected to use in the garden- eggplants are amazing.

But back to this squash business.  To be honest, I wasn’t quite sure what to do with so much!   I’ve only recently gotten the hang of using different types of zucchini but squash…well I’m not as certain about that.  But not one to back down from a challenge I decided I wanted to make something very fresh and summery using the veggies my mom brought up.  And thus, the Summer Sautéed Squash Salad was born!  Great hot or cold, but I would personally recommend chilled- after eating it all week I prefer it that way.

Summer Sautéed Squash-serves 3-4

4 small yellow squash
2 medium tomatoes
1-2 whole scallions
2 carrots
1/4 cup dill
1/2 tsp smoked paprika
2 TBSP canola oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Using a mandolin (or a knife) slice the squash length-wise as thinly as possible. Cut the scallions into half inch slices and use a grater to grate up the carrots.

Combine the tomatoes, dill and smoked paprika in a blender and blend until smooth.

Heat oil in a large pan and add the squash, scallions and carrots. Heat on medium for a few minutes until slightly softened, stirring occasionally and add the tomato mixture. Cover with a lid and allow to simmer for a few minutes before removing lid and allowing to cook a little longer before removing from pan.  Let cool before eating.

Leave a Reply

