Super Beet Salad!

Beets are pretty chill.  I mean, in all honesty, I really do love the taste of some good ‘ol roasted beets.  But putting together this post has taken me a while because the reasons why I like beets are…trickier.

At least, it’s trickier to explain in a publicly appropriate way but it’s time to get down to business.  And yeah, I mean that kind of business.

They taste great, but the real reason I get excited about them is because when I eat them, I know they are going to go through my body and cleanse my blood and liver and almost help to flush everything out.  And maybe most people don’t check the uh, “end process” but if you do, it’s pretty exciting because you can see how quickly the beets travel through your body and comes back out because they dye everything deep red.  You almost get a sort of timer as to how quickly your body processes food and that’s really cool.

At least, to me it is. 

So this recipe basically makes use of the whole beet- leaves too!  When I buy a bunch of beets at the Green Markets I hate to waste anything, especially when it’s perfectly edible, such as the tops of the beets leaves.  They can be quite bitter though so feel free to toss in some spinach as well into this salad to balance things out a bit.   

A dinner, cocktail get together with my friend including my Frozen Watermelon, Basil and St. Germain Cocktails I posted last week.

A dinner, cocktail get together with my friend including my Frozen Watermelon, Basil and St. Germain Cocktails I posted last week.

 

  0
  false
 
 
  18 pt
  18 pt
  0
  0
 
  false
  false
  false
 
  
  
  
  
 

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:12.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

 

Beet Salad – serves 2-3

2 Bunches of Beets with Leaves (I used 1 bunch of golden and 1 bunch regular)

6 Mint leaves, julienned (optional)

½ Avocado, cubed

1 TBSP Balsamic Vinaigrette

1 TBSP Lime Juice

2 TBSP Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Remove stems and beet leaves- set aside leaves in a bowl of cool water (By the time I get around to roasting my beets, the leaves sometimes are a little worse for wear so it helps to soak them for a few hours to clean them, but also to wake them up a bit).  Scrub beets with water and
wrap with tin foil (I put about 2-3 beets per package).  Roast in oven for about an hour or
until beets are tender when stuck with a fork.  Allow beets to cool completely.  Once cool, peel off skins and chop up beets into cubes (or
slices depending on your style). 
Remove leaves from water, tear into smaller pieces and pat dry with
towel.  Toss together beets, beet
leaves, avocado and mint (if using).

Wisk together balsamic vinaigrette, lime juice and olive
oil.  Season with salt and pepper
and pour over salad.

*Just mentioning it again- beet leaves can be very bitter so if you’d like, toss in
some spinach leaves in addition or instead of beet leaves

 

Leave a Reply

