Chilled Overnight Oatmeal

In NYC (or at least in the hood in Brooklyn) people don’t typically have central AC and really only air condition one room with a cute little window unit.  My air conditioned room is my bedroom since sleeping is not possible when I’m drowning in my own sweat.  I have a lot of Northern European in my blood so drowning in my sweat is something that happens disturbingly often.  

This means however, that at any given time in the summer, the rest of the apartment is trying to melt you away like an ice cube- and quick!  If you’ve been using the stove or oven forget about it- you might as well just die right there.

So the name of the game in the summer is cool.  Go raw- try to avoid cooking as much as possible.  Eat up those fresh fruits and veggies like there’s no tomorrow.  Since summer officially hit I haven’t spend much time in my kitchen which i regret but I just can’t afford to shower 6 times a day!  That’s where this recipe comes in- it’s not completely raw but it is nutritious, filling, and doesn’t require more than 5 minutes at a time to make.  And you have a quick breakfast ready at the go for you when you get up so sleep in more!

 

  0
  false
 
 
  18 pt
  18 pt
  0
  0
 
  false
  false
  false
 
 
 
 
 
 

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:12.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

Overnight Oatmeal –serves 2

¾ Cup Regular Rolled Oats

¼ Cup Chia Seeds

1 Handful of chopped dried fruit (optional- I used mango)

¼ tsp Nutmeg

½ tsp Cinnamon

1 ¼ Cup Almond Milk

Mix dry ingredients in a bowl and add almond milk. Put into
an appropriate container (I used a mason jar), cover and stick in fridge
overnight.

When you are ready, separate into bowls and top with you
favorite toppings, adding more almond milk if desired.  I added banana slices, blueberries and
some homemade strawberry jam as my “sweetener”.

You have to admit, I just made your mornings so much easier.

 

Leave a Reply

