July 4th Means Burger Time!

So as we all know, July 4th is coming up.  And that means grills and burgers and hot dogs and beer and fireworks.  At least, I’m pretty sure it does.  See, for the past few years I’ve had to work on the Fourth of July so I’ve never been able to do anything but guess what?

This year I have the day off!

And I’m so excited because not only do I have the day off but I’ve been invited to a Vegan BBQ at Prospect Park!  This time around I won’t have to cook my veggie burgers on the grill first or find a pan in the kitchen to cook my food separately- oh no- I shall grill together with other groups of people like a normal, social human being and it shall be glorious!

Now my only concern is whether or not it will rain.  I really hope it doesn’t because I put together a special, super delicious burger intended for mass consumption.  I had originally planned on taking pictures of this beaut in the park in the grass with the trees and sunshine but alas, nature made the final decision: it poured all day, so I had to take the pictures indoors.  But clearly you can see this stuff is made of deliciousness and that’s what really matters.

Chickpea Sweet Potato Mushroom Burgers – serves 8-10

1 TBSP Ground Flaxseed + 3 TBSP Water

1 (15.5oz) can Chickpeas

1 cup Mashed Sweet Potato

2 tsp Sesame Oil

1 1/3 cup chopped Shiitake Mushrooms

1/4 cup chopped Parsley

1/2 tsp of each of the following: Onion Powder, Ground Mustard, Garlic Powder, Smoked Paprika, Ground Coriander, Liquid Smoke

1/4 tsp Cayenne

3/4 tsp Salt

1 1/4 cup Rolled Oats

In a small bowl, combine flaxseed and water, and mix slightly.  Set aside.  Drain the chickpeas and mash in a large bowl (I used a fork because I wanted to still have large chickpea chunks but if you’d prefer, you can always blend it all smooth in a blender). Mix in sweet potato until thoroughly combined.  Heat a pan on medium/low with sesame oil and saute shiitake mushrooms a few minutes until soft.  Add to mixture along with parsley and spices.  Add rolled oats to a blender and blend for a few seconds until the oats are broken up smaller and more “flour-like”.  Mix into patty mixture along with flaxseed and water mixture (which should have gelled up a bit).

Form patties according to the size of your buns and one by one, cook with a little bit of oil on medium/low heat for a few minutes on each side until browned slightly. 

Assemble burgers! 

For my burgers I used Ezekiel’s Sesame Sprouted Buns.  On the bottom bun I put a light spread of Chipotle Veganaise then I layered on pea sprouts, the patty, a tomato slice, avocado slices and some sliced red onion rings.

Get creative and enjoy!

(and don’t forget a delicious side of watermelon!) 

 

2 thoughts on “July 4th Means Burger Time!

  1. Miliany Bonet says:

    These burgers look great and delicious!! I am a BIG fan of veggie burgers and I love the different flavors you can male out of them. I love reading your blog! 🙂 Hey, did you check out my blog? If you subscribe (follow it) my blog. I’ll send you over my 1st free e-book if you do! I follow you blog, so it’d be nice if you followed mines back! =) Happy holidays and hope you enjoy yourself! 🙂

    Like

    • Kelsey Marcus says:

      Thanks I’m glad you like the recipe~!And yes, I did check out your blog from when we last "spoke" and I’m sorry I forgot to comment but I found your article about peanut butter very interesting! I had heard that the peanuts used in peanut butter are the "bad", moldy ones (since they use the nice looking ones when selling whole peanuts) so I try to stray away as much as possible, or make my own peanut butter at home…And yes, I just subscribed to your blog 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

