Radish Bonanza

Radishes are questionable.  Pretty to look at, but questionable.  I’m really not a fan of their peppery flavor and yeah, they work well when you slice them thinly into salads but how many do you use for that?  Like one? And you never receive just one radish- they usually come in a bunch like how they did last week in my CSA. 

Last year I received several bunches of radishes over the course of my CSA season and I’m sorry to admit that most of them lay forgotten and neglected in the back of my fridge until they were nothing but sad, shriveled up shells of their former beauty.

But no longer shall I play a part in the death and decay of healthy, beautiful vegetables!  No, this time I decided to rise to the challenge!  I will not give into my fears of vegetables I deem questionable because I do not know them well!  I will make them into something tasty and delectable and something I would actually eat! 

And that is how we got here.  To this plate of beauty filled with all the right colors- chock full of health and nutrition.  I mean, looking at this, doesn’t it make you want to rethink your previous conceptions of radishes? (If you are like me, of course)

I decided that if I roasted them and tossed them in with a delicious marinade to cut down on the peppery-ness that it would do perfectly.  And it did- a little sweet, a little sour and a little spice and this plate is so nice ~!

Radish Bonanza! – serves 2

1 Bunch of Radishes, rinsed and chopped in half (about 12) 

1TBSP Olive Oil

Salt

1 Cup Crimini mushrooms, sliced

1/2 Red Onion sliced into rings

1 Bunch Collard Greens, chopped

3/4 Cup Barley + 2 cups Water (more if needed)

Marinade: 

2 TBSP Whole Grain Mustard

2 TBSP Raw Agave

1 TBSP Apple Cider Vinegar

First, put barley and water into a pot and bring to a boil.  Once boiling, lower temperature and cover with lid.  Cook 45 minutes or until tender and liquid is absorbed.  Set aside.* 

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Toss chopped radishes with olive oil and salt and place cut side down on a large pan.  Roast for approx. 15 minutes until edges are browned.  Remove from oven and let cool.

Mix all ingredients for marinade together in a small bowl and mix in radishes and set aside.

Heat a large pan with a little oil and sauté onion slices for a few minutes, until soft, then add mushrooms and sauté a few minutes longer.  Add about a quarter cup of water to pan and toss in chopped collard greens and let the steam wilt the greens slightly before removing.

Plate ingredients on two plates- barley on the bottom, collard greens mix next and marinated radishes on top.  Drizzle any remaining marinade on top.  

Enjoy! 

*Or, if you are short on time, check out Trader Joe’s 10 Minute Barley- it’s awesome! 

Even Zoe wants some!

2 thoughts on “Radish Bonanza

    • Kelsey Marcus says:

      Yes, barley is very similar to brown rice in terms of cooking (in fact I was originally going to do the recipe with brown rice but realized I was out of it so I used this instead!) and flavor.Give it a try- I’m sure you’ll like it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

