Summer Kumquat and Citrus Salad

Kumquats and I have a love/hate, kind of sadistic type of relationship.   When I grew up in California, we had a kumquat tree in the backyard (along with the most amazing blood orange tree, but we’ll get into that another day) and maybe my memory is warped, or maybe it was a special type of tree but I remember kumquats being very sweet and enjoyable.  So now and then, I once again give them a shot and buy some, thinking that they will taste like how I remember them to be and in eating one, I will be transported to my youth.

But, as I have found, it has not been the case.  Instead I pop one in my mouth, start to chew and wince in pain at how sour it is, and then it opens up, to its sweet, luscious, juice.  And I think, “Wow, that was sweet.” and pop in another and go through the same thing all over again- regretting it in the beginning and enjoying it later.

So that’s how this recipe starts out- with me buying kumquats again and immediately wondering what I was doing buying them  Eventually I decided they would be good in a salad because all the leafy greens and other ingredients would help tone down the tartness while still letting the kumquats shine.

So if you are looking for light, healthy and super delicious happy salad, this one’s for you! 

 

Summer Kumquat and Citrus Salad – serves 1-2

 

  0
  false
 
 
  18 pt
  18 pt
  0
  0
 
  false
  false
  false
 
  
  
  
  
 

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:12.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

1/4 lb Mesclun Mix -approx 4-6 cups, not packed (I made sure mine had lots of sprouts in it) 

½
Cup Kumquats, sliced into ¼ inch rounds, seeds removed

¼
Cup Slivered Almonds

1
Peeled and Grated Apple (I used Granny Smith)

Dressing:

1/4 Cup Orange Juice

2
TBSP White Balsamic Vinegar

1
TBSP Extra Virgin Olive Oil

¼
tsp salt

pinch
of pepper

In a large bowl, toss together all your salad ingredients. In a small separate bowl, whisk together the dressing mix and pour overtop of salad (you’ll probably have extra dressing) .

 

Leave a Reply

