Chocolate Peanut Butter Balls

FINALLY! A DAY TO REST!  I’m so grateful for Sundays because right now they are the one day I consistently have off from any and all “jobs” .  I use Sundays typically to relax (sort of), stay at home and take care of everything else.  So today, one of the things on my “everything else” list, includes putting up another recipe for you guys!

Today’s recipe is for those, who, if you are like me, have a HUGE sweet tooth.  I used to love baking and to be honest, I still do.  

Cupcakes, cookies, cakes- they fill me with joy and happiness.  

Until I finish eating it and then I want more and more and more and then usually feel sluggish and unhappy with myself for eating so much of something that really isn’t good for me.  Over the past few months I’ve been working to “kick the habit” and severely cut back on refined sugars because in all seriousness, sugar is an addiction (and the same can be said for carbs) and like most all other addictions, it’s not good for you.

When I’m craving something sweet, I typically turn to fruits and it works because I rarely crave baked sweets and the like anymore.

And that is how this recipe came along.  I used to never eat chocolate things with peanut butter because I was used to the famous, Reese’s Pieces which taste just awful! But I’ve found that when you use actual chocolate and actual peanut butter they really are a match made in heaven!

So, if you’re looking for something to indulge in without going overboard or need a little pick me up energy-wise throughout the day these babies are for you!

Chocolate, peanut butter and balls- an amazing combination! 

Chocolate Peanut Butter Balls – makes 12-13 balls

 

  0
  false
 
 
  18 pt
  18 pt
  0
  0
 
  false
  false
  false
 
  
  
  
  
 

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;}

1
Cup Dates

¼
tsp Sea Salt

3
TBSP Peanut Butter

¼
Cup + 1/8 Cup Shredded Unsweetened Coconut, separated

½
tsp Raw Cacao

Pit the dates, if needed and place in food processor and process a little so that they start to break up a little, then add sea salt, peanut butter and 1/4 cup shredded coconut.  Process until an even mixture is formed. 

In large bowl, combine the remaining shredded coconut and raw cacao.  Spoon out the date mixture about a tablespoon at a time and using your hands roll into 12-13 even balls.  Then take each ball and roll it into the coconut, cacao mixture until it is evenly covered.

Indulge! 

 

If you want a little more information regarding sugar and its effects on the body, check out this slideshow over at Web MD below.  There is obviously a lot more information out there with regards to this, but this page has a nice, quick overview to get you started. 

Leave a Reply

